Blak Madeen - Supreme Aftermath

Boston's Blak Madeen Prove That Music Is Universal On Their Latest Full Length Effort
By: Rhyme Dawah
Blak Madeen - Supreme Aftermath
Blak Madeen - Supreme Aftermath
BOSTON - Dec. 21, 2015 - PRLog -- Boston’s own Blak Madeen deliver an incredibly potent and relevant new album, Supreme Aftermath, that deftly tackles Islamophobia, media-fueled hatred, and other issues facing our society.

Group member’s Yusuf Abdul-Mateen and Al-J Both drive that point home in making it clear that their message on this album is simple: “Think for yourself; don’t let the media or the politicians tell you how to view the world,” says Yusuf. While Al-J, agrees: “We are not preaching or trying to tell you what to do. You have to gravitate to our message—it’s magnetic.”

That sentiment is felt immediately on the opening title track, an already-powerful message made that much more poignant through the use of Malcolm X quotes. His voice serves as a guiding light for the duo, two proud Muslim men who use the remaining 13 songs to spread love, dish out sharp criticisms of the media, and spit straight verbal darts.

The album boasts features from the likes of Gift of Gab, Planet Asia, and Blacastan, who provide copmelling guest appearances on “Long Way to Go,” “Guerrilla Soldiers,” and “Mic Divine,” respectively. And it’s not just the fact that these guests leave a mark on the album with their skills; they’re clearly well-thought out choices who complement their like-minded rap brethren. Al-J and Yusuf prove their just as capable on their own, though, especially on cuts like the aptly titled “Energetic Darts,” as well as the thoughtful album-closer, “Where’s Justice?.”

With Supreme Aftermath, Blak Madeen add another impressive project to their already-solid catalogue, while cementing Boston’s placement on the Hip-Hop map. “I think Supreme Aftermath is our best work yet, production-wise. It’s soulful music with a good message,” Al-J says, while Yusuf notes that they knew exactly what they wanted to do both lyrically and musically. The latter received a boost from a top-notch production lineup, comprised of The Arcitype, Sicknature (of Snowgoons), and Teddy Roxpin, among others.

Beyond all that, the two just want people to enjoy this album for what it is: “This is Hip-Hop, first and foremost,” Yusuf says. “One doesn’t need to be a Muslim or a Five Percenter or whatever to feel it. Music is universal.”

Supreme Aftermath is out now via Rhyme Dawah, and if you’re in the Boston area on Jan. 15, be sure to head to the Middle East in Cambridge for the release party. It’ll feature performances by Masta Ace, G.Dot & Born, and Blacastan.

01. Supreme Aftermath (prod. by Skin Ced)
02. Mic Divine (feat. Blacastan) [prod. by Teddy Roxpin]
03. Main Attraction (prod. by Sicknature)
04. Long Way To Go (feat. Gift of Gab and Cyrus Deshield) [prod. by The Arcitype]
05. Devil's Shadow (feat. Divine Styler and Rite Hook) [prod. by Skin Ced]
06. Guerrilla Soldiers (feat. Planet Asia) [prod. by The Arcitype]
07. Energetic Darts (prod. by Skin Ced)
08. The Procedure (feat. G. Dot & Born) [prod. by Divine Styler]
09. Blood Of Our Brothers (prod. by Skin Ced)
10. Words In Red (feat. Shabazz the Disciple) [prod. by Skin Ced]
11. The Worst Part (feat. Red Baren) [prod. by Skin Ced]
12. No Surrender (prod. by Skin Ced)
13. Experience the Struggle (prod. by Skin Ced)
14. Where's Justice? (feat. Krumbsnatcha) [prod. by Skin Ced]
*All Cuts by DJ Slipwax

Ned Wellbery
Email:*** Email Verified
Tags:Blak Madeen, Hip-hop, New Release
Location:Boston - Massachusetts - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
Page Updated Last on: Dec 22, 2015

Like PRLog?
Click to Share