Fans of Douglas Adams, do not fear! Brent D. Seth is here!

First time author Brent D. Seth melds adventure, aliens, and humor into his dynamite new novel, Short Fuse!
 
 
Short Fuse by Brent D Seth
Short Fuse by Brent D Seth
 
Spread the Word
Listed Under

Tags:
Douglas Adams
Short Fuse
Brent D. Seth
Science Fiction Comedy
Leo Publishing

Industrys:
Books
Publishing

Location:
Port Huron - Michigan - US

Subject:
Events

PORT HURON, Mich. - April 21, 2015 - PRLog -- What does a forty-ish out-of-shape mega-mart cashier, his cat, and a hyper-macho cop have in common? They are the main characters in Short Fuse and hold the key to the entire fate of the galaxy, that’s all! Short Fuse, Brent D. Seth’s first novel, is a fast-paced journey through the universe that explodes the mold of the science fiction genre. Seth weaves a tale of adventure, throwing together three unlikely victims of an alien abduction into a story that you just can’t put down and that you can’t stop chuckling over.  Seldom do you find creative, edgy writing, a brilliant plot, and subtle non-stop humor in a first-time author’s novel. Short Fuse is a worthy successor to A Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, by the late Douglas Adams.

Short Fuse begins with Seth’s heroes being abducted, then wondering upon their awakening where their newfound energy and brain power came from. And boy, will this trio ever need all the help they can muster because they have some tough decisions to make, where their unique combined abilities will mean the difference between freedom and enslavement for dozens of . . . um . . . inhabitants.

Fans of Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett’s work, longing for the kind of droll humor that made their books so enjoyable, will not be disappointed by Short Fuse and author Brent D. Seth. His debut novel is a worth successor for fans of Adams, Pratchett, or even Piers Anthony, author of  Prostho Plus, where a mild-mannered dentist is kidnapped by aliens to fix their commander’s roaring toothache. It is a rarity in the genre of science fiction to bring forth a novel so vividly populated with alien cultures and creatures, creative space and weapons technology, all while punctuated with brilliant satirical humor. Another rarity, especially with new authors, is first person point of view. Probably the most difficult form or writing is a first person perspective. Brent Seth’s novel is written from the view point of Jason, the former big-box store cashier, who is now the defender of alien worlds. There is nothing clumsy or amateurish about the writing with Seth’s first person narrative more in keeping with that of a veteran author than a first time novelist.

Short Fuse truly charts new territory in a story that will keep any reader in suspense waiting for the next disaster awaiting Brent Seth’s Earthling trio or the next punch line to relieve the tension in the story. The cleverness of Short Fuse is a mark of genius for this up-and-coming author.

Leo Publishing author Brent D. Seth, a native of Michigan who during childhood as a make believer became enthralled with space, combined that interest in space and storytelling by writing a novel. Before doing so, in his adult life, he has worked in retail, construction, and briefly in professional gardening. Although his sarcastic mouth often caused trouble in the workplace, it adds a certain distinction to his writing.  He insists that anything can be funny from the right point of view, and to truly enjoy the rare genre of satirical science fiction, please explore Short Fuse (you can read sample chapters at http://www.leopublishing.net/ourbooks.htm), available at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and other online and retail bookstores.
End
Source:
Email:***@leopublishing.net Email Verified
Tags:Douglas Adams, Short Fuse, Brent D. Seth, Science Fiction Comedy, Leo Publishing
Industry:Books, Publishing
Location:Port Huron - Michigan - United States
Subject:Events
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
Leo Publishing, LLC PRs
Trending News
Top Daily News
Top Weekly News



Like PRLog?
9K2K1K
Click to Share