William Greenway Wins the 2014 FutureCycle Poetry Book Prize

Now entering its seventh year, the FutureCycle Poetry Book Prize is awarded for the best full-length volume of poetry published by FutureCycle Press in a calendar year. The 2014 prize goes to poet William Greenway for his Selected Poems.
William Greenway Wins Book Prize
William Greenway Wins Book Prize
LEXINGTON, Ky. - Jan. 1, 2015 - PRLog -- FutureCycle Press (www.futurecycle.org) is pleased to announce that William Greenway has won the 2014 FutureCycle Poetry Book Prize for his book William Greenway: Selected Poems. In addition to the prize, the poet receives an honorarium and will serve as one of the judges for the 2015 FutureCycle Poetry Book Prize. He will also receive copies of all 2015 book prize contenders for his library.

Greenway is Distinguished Professor of English at Youngstown State University. Both his tenth and eleventh poetry collections won Ohio Poetry Book of the Year awards. He has published in Poetry, American Poetry Review, Georgia Review, Southern Review, Poetry Northwest, Shenandoah, and Prairie Schooner.

Established in 2009, the FutureCycle Poetry Book Prize is awarded for the best full-length volume of poetry published by the press in a given year. The winning poet receives an honorarium—a percentage of the press’s total online book, chapbook, and ebook sales in the year of publication—and also serves on the panel of judges the following year. Previous winners include Joan Colby for Joan Colby: Selected Poems (2013), Richard Carr for Dead Wendy (2012), Kimberley Pittman-Schultz for Mosslight (2011), Timothy Martin for Stealing Hymnals From the Choir (2010), and Temple Cone for No Loneliness (2009).

This year's prize-winning book was selected from fifteen full-length poetry collections published by the press in 2014. Joining press editors Diane Kistner, David Chorlton, and Robert S. King in judging the 2014 prize competition, 2013 winner Joan Colby was also invited to join FutureCycle Press’s permanent acquisitions editing team.

In addition to Greenway's book, contenders for the 2014 prize (in order of publication) included Disappearing Act by Stephen Longfellow, Blood Moon by Jane Blue, Love Is a Burning Building by J. P. Dancing Bear, Science And by Diane Furtney, The Sauntering Eye by Elizabeth Schultz, The Human Part by Randy Blythe, Redemption by Lee Passarella, Bed of Coals by Joseph Hutchison, Rough Beast by Tim Peeler, What the Neighbors Know by Melanie McCabe, Paul Hostovsky: Selected Poems by Paul Hostovsky, Afterwords by Leon Weinmann, Christopher Bursk: Selected Poems by Christopher Bursk, and The Holyoke Diaries by Gerald Yelle.

To submit a book manuscript for publication and book prize consideration, please refer to the Guidelines at www.futurecycle.org.

Diane Kistner
Source: » Follow
Posted By:***@gmail.com Email Verified
Tags:Futurecycle Press, FutureCycle Poetry Book Prize, Contemporary Poetry, Book Prize, Book Award
Industry:Books, Literature
Location:Lexington - Kentucky - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
FutureCycle Press News
Most Viewed
Daily News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share