Tales of Wonder and Dread Releases New Lovecraftian Books

Tales of Wonder and Dread Publishing has released two new Lovecraftian collections. The titles for the books are "Lovecraftian Roots" Influenced Howard Phillips Lovecraft" and "Lovecraftian Branches."
By: Tales of Wonder and Dread Publishing
POPLAR GROVE, Ill. - Aug. 20, 2019 - PRLog -- Poplar Grove, Illinois based Tales of Wonder and Dread Publishing has released two new Lovecraftian collections on August 20th. The titles for the books are "Lovecraftian Roots: Writers Who Influenced Howard Phillips Lovecraft" and "Lovecraftian Branches: Weird Tales Built on H.P. Lovecraft's Mythos." Both are edited by Gary Hill and feature artwork by J.B. Lee on the covers. A portion of the royalties of each book will go to the estate of Lovecraftian author W.H. Pugmire. Hill is no stranger to Lovecraftian works, having released his first book, "The Strange Sound of Cthulhu: Music Inspired by the Writings of H.P. Lovecraft" in 2006.

H.P. (Howard Phillips) Lovecraft was an author from Providence, Rhode Island. He was born on August 20, 1890 and died on March 15, 1937. He never achieved any large success during his life and remained largely unknown during his lifetime. After his death, though, he gained prominence as one of the most influential 20th century writers of weird fiction and horror, influencing many other writers including giants like Stephen King. His influence has spread into the worlds of film, music and popular culture, and his Lovecraftian mythos has lived on through  works of many creators.

"Lovecraftian Roots" collects stories from a number of authors who were influential to the writings of H.P. Lovecraft. The stories included are: "The Willows" by Algernon Blackwood (1907), "The Yellow Sign" by Robert W. Chambers (1895),  "Idle Days on the Yann" by Lord Dunsany (1910), "Lost Hearts" by M. R. James (1895), "The White People" by Arthur Manchen (1904),"Out of the Deep" by Walter de la Mare (1923), "The Facts in the Case of M. Valdemar" by Edgar Allan Poe (1845) and "The House of Sounds" by Matthew Phipps Shiel (1911).

The companion to "Lovecraftian Roots," "Lovecraftian Branches" collects ten stories from H.P. Lovecraft (the tree's trunk) along with newer Lovecraftian stories (the branches). The stories from H.P.L. included are: "The Tomb," "The Statement of Randolph Carter," "The Doom that Came to Sarnath," "Dagon," "The Lurking Fear," "The Music of Erich Zann," "Nyarlathotep," "Polaris" and "The White Ship." The stories that make up "the branches" are: "Recompense of Sorrow" by W. H. Pugmire, "The Debut Tour" by Gary Hill, "Worm" by Eric Danhoff, "The Bibliophile" by Henrik Sandbeck Harksen, "The Stars" by Gary Hill and "The Hillside Altar" by Del Merritt.

All of the books are available in paperback at lulu.com/strangesound now and will be at Amazon.com and other book retailers soon. A hardcover edition of each is available exclusively at lulu.com/strangesound.

Source:Tales of Wonder and Dread Publishing
Email:***@musicstreetjournal.com Email Verified
Tags:Lovecraftian books
Location:Poplar Grove - Illinois - United States
Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
Gary Hill PR PRs
Trending News
Most Viewed
Top Daily News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share