Follow on Google News
News By Tag
News By Place
Follow on Google News
Phoenix DUI Attorney Larson And Simpson PLC
Larson & Simpson PLC understands the importance of your future, that is why we focus on it, doesn't matter if you are dealing with personal crisis or setting off on a new adventure, we want to help you understand your options.
By: Larson And Simpson PLC
Driving a vehicle under the influence, aka DUI, of alcohol can be dangerous and life threatening. It is mostly certainly illegal. If a driver commits a DUI, severe penalties from both the courts and the Arizona Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Division will be instituted.
The exact punishments will depend on the conditions of the DUI and driving history, a violator will usually face jail time, fines, compulsory completion of alcohol addiction treatments and evaluation programs. Violators may be required to purchase and install a device that requires the operator of a vehicle to pass a test by blowing into the device safely in order to start the vehicle. That comes after what may be the most catastrophic of the penalties - driver's license suspension or even revocation. This can be followed by loss of job, increase or cancellation of insurance, family strife and becoming ostracized by friends and family. Phoenix DUI attorney Larson and Simpson (http://www.larsonandsimpson.com/
In Arizona, a standard DUI is defined as driving a vehicle with a blood alcohol content of 0.08$ or more. If the driver is operating a commercial vehicle, the level is 0.04% BAC. Anyone under 21, driving under the influence is any percentage. For those moving to the next level, extreme DUI, the level is set at a BAC of 0.15% or above.
In Arizona, an aggravated DUI is defined as any DUI committed with a driver's license that has been suspended, revoked or cancelled., a third offense within 7 years, and a DUI committed with a passenger that is younger than fifteen years old.
Each type of DUI in Arizona comes with a different set of penalties and the more severe the DUI, the harsher the consequences. The penalties will depend on the type of DUI the vehicle operator convicted of.
Per Arizona law, If a driver is stopped on suspicion of a DUI by a police officer and either fails or refuses to take the breathalyzer test, the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division will typically suspend the driver's license immediately for twelve months, or twenty four months, if a second refusal occurs within eighty four months.
An offender will be required to complete an alcohol screening before they can apply for a restricted driving permit, or attempt to reinstate their license after their suspension time is completed. Offenders may be required to enroll in additional educational or treatment classes based on their screening results.
So, what are the penalties? First time offenders may face ten days in jail, a fine of $1,250, completions of alcohol screening, treatment and education programs, community service, and the aforementioned ignition interlock for every vehicle you drive.
Get caught in a second DUI, the penalties escalate. Here, a n offender will most likely do ninety days in jail, pay a fine of $3,000, have their license revoked for one year, community service (longer this time), the ignition locking device, and the required programs, again.
While we will not describe them here, know that extreme and aggravated DUI offenses carry much more severe penalties and expense. Any DUI offender in Arizona is taking not only their own lives, but other lives in hand. Phoenix DUI attorney Larson and Simpson PLC can help navigate the way through the legal system for DUI offenders.
Larson And Simpson PLC
Account Email Address Account Phone Number Disclaimer Report Abuse
Page Updated Last on: Jul 20, 2016