Chapdelaine takes a page out of the Buono

By: Wally Buono Award
NANAIMO, British Columbia - May 12, 2015 - PRLog -- Wally Buono along with the Saint Bernard Pass Charitable Foundation and the Nanaimo Museum and Sports Hall of Fame would like to announce that the 12th Annual Wally Buono Award winner will be Mr. Dylan Chapdelaine of the CJFL VI Raiders.  Chapdelaine is a four time "All Canadian Selection" as he led his club last season with 27 solo tackles, a sack, two knockdowns, a forced fumble and had a pair of interceptions.  He led the BCFC with 20 assisted tackles as well as being named the BCFC's Outstanding Defensive Linebacker in 2014.

“Every player strives to be recognized for their ability and I am no different.  Winning the Wally Buono Award is a highlight for me as it tells me I am on the right track as a player and as a person.  I am both honored and humbled at being recognized by all involved in the selection process” stated Dylan Chapdelaine.

Former VI Raider coach, Jim Lozon said that Dylan “has inspired a whole new generation of players in his community to believe that they too, can be an impact player on a team of a higher level and that its realistic for a kid from Nanaimo to have a dream about football.”

Wally and Christie Buono had the following to say; “We are pleased to select the Dylan Chapdelaine as the 2014 selection of the Wally Buono Award.
He was a very close second last year and the fact that he was again in the
running, both my dad and I felt he was the right candidate to take the
award. Here is a young man who has endured a lot of trials and yet still
makes time to give back in the community. As we know, this award isn't just
based on skill, yes Dylan has that but what makes him really stand out is
the kind of person he is, the perseverance he's endured, and the leader he
has become. He's a perfect example of what the Wally Buono Award is all
about and the kind of men we want to help mold and shape to lead us in the
future. We are thrilled to select him and look forward to meeting Dylan on
the May 23rd.”

Debbie Trueman, General Manager of the Nanaimo Museum added; "It is an honour again this year to be a part of this celebration.  Thank you to Saint Bernard Pass Charitable Foundation and the Buono and Saint Marche families for making us the home of the Wally Buono Award."

“Champions like Wally Buono and Dylan Chapdelaine are not bred.  They are forged form the hardships and events that impact their families and their own lives.  They take these difficult times and mold themselves into people we all can believe in.  That is how I saw Wally Buono 13 years ago in Calgary as we asked him to be the namesake of this award and that is how I see Dylan Chapdelaine today as our 12th winner” stated Saint Bernard  Pass Charitable Foundation Director Christina Saint Marche.

About the Wally Buono Award:

The Wally Buono Award was established in 2003 and is funded annually by The Saint Bernard Pass Charitable Foundation for the purpose of recognizing Canada's top junior football player. The award is a national award, as it is the only award that recognizes all junior football players throughout Canada. Recipients must prove their athletic and leadership ability on the field as well as a high level of leadership within their community. Previous recipients have included 2003 winner Al Giacalone, who is a former running back for Canada's St. Mary's University and a former Calgary Colt. In 2004, Chris Ciezki, running back for the University of British Columbia and the Edmonton Huskies, was awarded the Wally Buono Award.  Chris is a former member of the Edmonton Eskimos. Jeff Halvorson, of the Okanagan Sun Junior Football Club was the third winner of the Wally Buono Award in 2005. Known as the fastest man in junior football, Jeff passed suddenly on the practice field on the first of September 2004, just before the end of a practice session. Halvorson was well on his way to breaking several Canadian national junior football rushing records. 2006 saw University of Manitoba pivot and former Winnipeg Rifle, Nate Friesen, take the award.  Edmonton Wildcat record holder, Tristan Jones was honored as the 2007 Wally Buono Award winner for being the finest junior football player in all of Canada.  Calgary Colt, Cassidy Doneff, followed Jones as the WBA winner in 2008. In 2009, the award went to Andrew Harris who is now a member of the BC Lions and was voted the Most Valuable Canadian in the 2011 Grey Cup.  For the 2010 season, the award was presented to Kleevens Jean-Louis, who is the first winner selected from the QJFL.  2011 saw Vancouver Island Raider Slotback, Michael Schaper take the award.  In 2012, Vancouver Island teammate Jordan Yantz won the Wally Buono Award.  2013 found Regina Thunder Quarterback, Asher Hastings as our Champion.  Today we have VI Raider Dylan Chapdelaine as our winner.

WBA Winners

2014 Dylan Chapdelaine, LB

2013 Asher Hastings, Quarterback

2012 Jordan Yantz, Quarterback

2011 Michael Schaper, Slotback

2010 Kleevens Jean-Louis, DL

2009 Andrew Harris, RB

2008 Cassidy Doneff, WR

2007 Tristan Jones, RB

2006 Nathan Friesen, QB

2005 Jeff Halvorson, RB

2004 Chris Ciezki, RB

2003 Alan Giacalone, RB

Direct Contact:

Wally Buono

Christie Buono

BC Lions Football Club


Dylan Chapdelaine


The Wally Buono Award Exhibit and Trophy is housed at the Nanaimo Museum & Sports Hall of Fame in Nanaimo, Vancouver Island.

Nanaimo Museum & Sports Hall of Fame

Contact:  Debbie Trueman, Director


Chance Saint Marche
Source:Wally Buono Award
Email:*** Email Verified
Tags:Wallybuono, Saintmarche, Saint Bernard Pass Charitable, Dylan Chapdelaine, Nanaimo museum and HOF
Industry:Non-profit, Sports
Location:Nanaimo - British Columbia - Canada
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
Page Updated Last on: May 12, 2015
Signature Entertainment News
Most Viewed
Daily News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share