Tribus Awards honors local communicators for campaigns, tactics excellence

By: PRSA-River Cities Chapter
HUNTINGTON, W.Va. - May 22, 2020 - PRLog -- The Public Relations Society of America (PRSA)-River Cities Chapter recently honored local communicators at its second annual Tribus Awards.

The ceremony, conducted virtually over Zoom on May 19, recognized Tri-State communicators in three categories: Honorable Mention, Tribus and Special awards. The awards encompass both full-fledged campaigns and tactics that contributed to the overall success of campaigns from August 2018 to August 2019.

The Tribus Awards, launched in 2018, is an annual exhibition of work from West Virginia, Kentucky and Ohio's communications professionals. In 2018, the awards rate was 59 percent, increasing in 2019 to 61 percent. In 2019, the Chapter awarded nine Honorable Mentions, eight Tribus Awards and five Special Awards.

"The overarching goal of the Tribus Awards is to showcase the amazing work our public relations practitioners and other communications professionals are doing in our area," said Kaylin R. Staten, APR, Chapter Past President and CEO of Hourglass Media. "Often, PR practitioners are so busy keeping the cogs on the wheel going for their organizations that they don't sit back and recognize the impact their work has in our communities. PRSA-River Cities Chapters' Tribus Awards program allows them to celebrate their successes and add credibility to their reputations as vital parts of organizations. We congratulate each of the winners!"

Winners included representatives from Marshall University Communications, Marshall University's public relations and advertising academic programs, Holzer Health System, Kentucky Power, Huntington Museum of Art, Shawnee State University, SunCoke Energy Partners LP and Hourglass Media.

A master list of award winners and insights can be found at

The Best Campaign in the Tri-State was awarded to the Marshall University Public Relations Academic Program for its PRSSA-MU Campaign. The Best Tactic in the Tri-State was for Hourglass Media and Cabell County Family Resource Network work on the Kids' Dental Health Month Electronic Press Kit.

Hapney said the fact that three groups of his former students earned eight awards in a professional competition is a testament to the quality of tactics and campaigns those alumni researched, planned, implemented and evaluated while they were still students at MU.

"Having practitioners and scholars from the Houston, Texas, chapter of PRSA recognize the value of my students' strategic communications work is the icing on the cake for what I consider already rewarding campaigns for three very worthy nonprofit organizations in our community," Hapney said.

Young Professional of the Year was awarded to Diana Starkweather, Plant Environmental, Health and Safety Manager at SunCoke Energy Partners LP in Franklin Furnace, Ohio.

Elizabeth Blevins, APR, Director of Communications at Shawnee State University, received the PR Practitioner of the Year Award.

The 2019 Chapter Service Award went to Kaylin R. Staten, APR, who served as Chapter President in 2018-2019.

Kaylin R. Staten, APR
Source:PRSA-River Cities Chapter
Email:*** Email Verified
Location:Huntington - West Virginia - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
Hourglass Media News
Most Viewed
Daily News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share