Vanderslice - Trendsetter (EP)

Veteran Beatsmith Pays Homage to His Favorite Production Library
By: Coalmine Records
Vanderslice - Trendsetter
Vanderslice - Trendsetter
PHOENIXVILLE, Pa. - March 5, 2020 - PRLog -- "It's mission critical to maintain my identity. Our sound is less is more and we don't follow the trends, we're setting the trend."—Vanderslice on the sound of his new release, Trendsetter

Armed with rare records from the Tanner library and a handful of guest features, Vanderslice shares some of his best work to date with the Trendsetter EP. The seven tracks showcase both his gifts as a producer and as a curator. While he provides the snarling, gritty instrumentals, we're treated to standout appearances from Vic Spencer, Ty Farris, G Perico, Daniel Son, and Capo.

In creating the beats for the project, Slice explains that he had "like 20 or 30 loops at my disposal, all gutter, all in the same vein." After picking his favorites, he personally linked with the emcees and stayed true to his aesthetic of creating pure, raw rap. The result is a track like "Cold Winter," a fitting title for a cut bursting with shit-talking lyrics from Chicago's Vic Spencer and hard-hitting production.

And then there's Slice's favorite track on the EP, the G Perico-assisted "Barry White Shit," that features a straight-up bonkers instrumental. "'Barry White Shit' was a blessing, we were fortunate to catch G Perico right before he took flight," Slice said of working with the L.A native. "The beat is just a loop with bass under it, it's gritty, and it's a side of G you rarely hear."

, as a whole, is equally as rare. It's a no-frills, no-bullshit release that stays true to everyone involved, and serves as another dope project from one of underground hip-hop's best kept secrets.

You can hear Trendsetter when it drops March 27 via Coalmine Records in partnership with Slice's Stones Faux imprint. It will be available on all major DSPs and on vinyl as a general release in classic black. There will also be a hot pink variant sold exclusively through Vanderslice's Bandcamp page with various bundles available, including slipmats, hoodies, and other merch.

Smart URL:

Side A:
01. Intro
02. Cold Winter (feat. Vic Spencer)
03. Christmas Night (feat. Ty Farris)
04. Barry White Shit (feat. G Perico)
05. Puzzles (feat. Daniel Son)
06. Shell Casings (feat. Capo)
07. Outro

Side B:
01. Intro (Instrumental)
02. Cold Winter (Instrumental)
03. Christmas Night (Instrumental)
04. Barry White Shit (Instrumental)
05. Puzzles (Instrumental)
06. Shell Casings (Instrumental)
07. Outro (Instrumental)

Source:Coalmine Records
Email:*** Email Verified
Location:Phoenixville - Pennsylvania - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
Page Updated Last on: Mar 05, 2020

Like PRLog?
Click to Share