Afu-Ra - Urban Chemistry (Album)

Rap Veteran Joins Forces with Producer Duo, Digital Cut for International Opus
By: X-Ray Production
Afu-Ra - Urban Chemistry
Afu-Ra - Urban Chemistry
PARIS - Jan. 30, 2020 - PRLog -- Urban Chemistry is a feat on many levels for veteran rap stalwart Afu-Ra. With more than 25 years in the game, he continues to push himself artistically and find new areas to conquer musically. And on these 18 tracks, he and French producer duo Digital Cut serve as our guide through raw boom-bap, soulful hip-hop, club-ready pop, somber reggae, and so much more. It's an epic journey for all involved, and it gets to the heart of what Afu wants to achieve: connection.

"My music has always been an effort to unify people," the NYC native explains. "And I don't think there would be a better way to achieve this then by collaborating with artists from all over the world." To prove his point, Afu enlisted the help of talented vocalists and emcees from just about everywhere. On the radio-friendly "Firetricity," he trades vocals with living legend Sizzla (Jamaica) And on the aptly titled "Lyrics Fly," Afu blacks out lyrically alongside French rap king Lord Kossity. But there are familiar collabos, like when he teams with fellow Gang Starr Foundation emcee, Big Shug for the album's title track.

The globe-trotting continues from there, and it actually goes beyond just the songs on the record. Afu and Digital Cut, in collaboration with the brand Canna, actually travelled to 15 cities in eight different countries to film music videos for every track on Urban Chemistry. To date, the rollout has included a stylish Los Angeles jaunt for "Reign On Me" (feat. Mann) and a trip to France for "Rise Up" (feat. Lyricson), among others.

Urban Chemistry is an altogether ambitious project for Afu, and it arrives at a time of pure creativity for the longtime artist. As he says himself, "The resurgence of my career with this new album was prompted by my desire to bring back quality music into the hip-hop industry." It's safe to say he exceeded his goal with this record.

01. Unstop (feat. Starrlight)
02. Kiss the Pain (feat. Myriam Sow)
03. Urban Chemistry (feat. Keny Arkana & Big Shug)
04. Reign On Me (feat. Mann)
05. Veni Vedi Vici (feat. Gavlyn)
06. War Chemicals (feat. Stranjah Miller)
07. Body's Jumping (feat. Celia Kameni)
08. Take Me Along (feat. Taïro)
09. Therapy (feat. LMK)
10. Be Strong (feat. Dave Dario)
11. Lyrics Fly (feat. Lord Kossity)
12. Molecular (feat. Jah Mason & Rocca)
13. Lion Science (feat. Sr Wilson)
14. Money Change (feat. Skarra Mucci)
15. Firetricity (feat. Sizzla)
16. Rise Up (feat. Lyricson)
17. Me & My Sensi (feat. Charly B)
18. I Try (feat. Q)

Smart URL: (

Cyril Noel
Source:X-Ray Production
Location:Paris - Paris - France
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
Diamond Media 360 PRs
Trending News
Most Viewed
Top Daily News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share