2019 Truman Democracy Fellows convene in DC

Spread the Word
Listed Under



Washington - District of Columbia - US


WASHINGTON - Nov. 6, 2019 - PRLog -- The Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation's third class of Democracy Fellows will convene November 7th in Washington, DC. Inaugurated in 2013, the Democracy Fellows program is for Truman Scholars pursuing electoral politics. The three-day program is designed so that participants develop knowledge of key issues and challenges associated with the electoral process, build community, and become better prepared to succeed in paths in public service.

The 2019 Truman Democracy Fellows

·      Kourtney Bettinger (Kansas 2006, Kansas State University, University of Kansas School of Medicine, Harvard Chan School of Public Health)

·      Angela Clements (Nebraska 2001, University of Nebraska, University of California Berkeley Boalt Hall)

·      Andi Dahmer (Kentucky 2018, Western Kentucky University)

·      Frankie Dakin (Tennessee 2013, Rhodes College)

·      Teresa Danso-Danquah (Virginia 2014, Cornell University)

·      Alfred Delena (New Mexico 2015, Stanford University)

·      Jared Duval (Vermont 2004, Wheaton College, Princeton University, University of Cambridge)

·      Joshua Engel (Nebraska 1992, University of Pennsylvania, Harvard Law School)

·      Matthew Gayer (Missouri 2011, Southern Methodist University, Syracuse University)

·      André Gonzales (New Mexico 2019, The George Washington University)

·      Danielle Gonzales (New Mexico 2000, The George Washington University, University of Notre Dame)

·      Renae Griggs (Florida 2000, Nova Southeastern University, John Jay College of Criminal Justice)

·      Kate Groesbeck (Nevada 2018, University of Nevada)

·      David Laszcz (Lousiana 2017, United States Naval Academy, Harvard Kennedy School of Government)

·      Clif Luber (Missouri 2013, United States Naval Academy)

·      Maeghan Maloney (Maine 1992, Swarthmore College, Harvard Law School)

·      Anne Morrison Smith (Missouri 2005, University of Missouri)

·      Patrick Oathout (Texas 2013, Duke University)

·      Robert Rodriguez (Missouri 1990, University of Missouri, New York University, Texas A&M)

The Truman Foundation was created by Congress in 1975 as the living memorial to President Truman and the presidential memorial to public service. The Foundation's mission is premised on the belief that a better future relies on attracting to public service the commitment and sound judgment of bright, outstanding Americans. In fact, it was this belief that led President Truman, when approached by a bipartisan group of admirers near the end of his life, to encourage Congress to create a living memorial, rather than a brick-and-mortar monument.

There have been 3,260 Truman Scholars selected since the first awards were made in 1977. Prominent Truman Scholars include Supreme Court Associate Justice Neil Gorsuch (1987), U.S. Senator Chris Coons (1983), former National Security Advisor Susan Rice (1984), U.S. Congressman Dusty Johnson (1998), U.S. Congressman Andy Kim (2003), New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio (1981) and former Arizona Governor Janet Napolitano (1977).

Please address questions about the Truman Democracy Fellows program to Ms. Kelsea Cooper at kcooper@truman.gov or 202.395.7432.


Kelsea Cooper
Email:***@truman.gov Email Verified
Location:Washington - District of Columbia - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse

Like PRLog?
Click to Share