JuneLyfe - Lyfe or Def (Album)

Roxbury Native Finally Steps out on His Own with His Long Awaited Debut Solo LP
By: Brick Records
BOSTON - July 12, 2019 - PRLog -- With countless acclaimed guest appearances to his name, JuneLyfe has been steadily building his musical resume over the years while also running with the crews Cool Collective Reps, Retrospek and The Winners. And now the Roxbury, MA native steps out on his own with his long awaited debut solo LP, Lyfe or Def. As the man says himself, this is quite literally his life in the form of a raw, gritty hip-hop album full of sharp lyricism, hard-hitting production, and impressive musicality.

Those qualities can be tied back to his stomping grounds of Roxbury, where influential artists ranging from New Edition to Edo G. called home. And their influence on June's music is firmly cemented as he carries the torch proudly for his neighborhood. "My environment in Roxbury—my childhood and so forth—has developed into a certain passion and attitude that I will always carry with me everywhere I go," he explains.

His passion comes through whether he's gritting his teeth through a menacing track like "Doin' The Most," which features Planet Asia and Daniel Son, or flexing his funkier side on the timeless charm of "What It Look Like." The musicality of Lyfe or Def also bleeds through on the instrumental interludes that help the album flow and provide a strong sense of cohesion.

Everything about Lyfe or Def comes together on the album itself but also in the way that June talks about it. He's frank in discussing the difficulties he overcame to figure out how he would represent himself as a solo artist, and he put in the work to define who he is as a person. "I had to live more, read more, be more empathetic, have more integrity, be a little more vulnerable," he says. "All these things have helped in the manifestation of the growth presented on the record."

You can hear just what June means on the album's lead single, "Rotation," which features fellow homegrown talent SPNDA, REKS, and Dua (of Bad Rabbits). It exemplifies his fervor for the craft and life itself, and also displays his pure talents on the mic alongside some of the Boston area's finest.

Lyfe or Def drops Friday, July 19 through all major digital retailers and streaming platforms via Brick Records.

01. Intro
02. Heights (prod. by Rah Intelligence)
03. In the City (prod. by Rah Intelligence)
04. Money Makin Mitch (prod. by Rah Intelligence)
05. The Pinch (prod. by Vinyl Villain)
06. Hide-N-Seek (prod. by Clypto)
07. Clairvoyant (prod. by Rah Intelligence)
08. Doin the Most (feat. Planet Asia & Daniel Son) [prod. by Rah Intelligence]
09. Sea Breeze (Instrolude) [prod. by Vinyl Villain]
10. What It Look Like (prod. by Doc Da Mindbenda)
11. Wait a Minute (feat. Barrelz & Marv'E) [prod. by Barrelz]
12. No Worries (prod. by Raw Minerals)
13. Rotation (feat. Spnda, REKS & Duaof Bad Rabbits) [prod. by Doc Da Mindbenda]
14. Surreal (prod. by Rah Intelligence)
15. Sound of Colours (Outro) [prod. by Rah Intelligence]

iTunes Pre-Order: https://music.apple.com/us/album/lyfe-or-def/1471211117

Email:***@diamondmedia360.com Email Verified
Location:Boston - Massachusetts - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
Diamond Media 360 PRs
Trending News
Most Viewed
Top Daily News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share