Help Reward Computing's Leaders with an IEEE-CS Award Nomination

The computing industry relies on major developments and accomplishments by leaders in the field to remain dynamic and vital.
LOS ALAMITOS, Calif. - Sept. 3, 2014 - PRLog -- LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 29 August 2014 – The computing industry relies on major developments and accomplishments by leaders in the field to remain dynamic and vital. IEEE Computer Society's awards program offers a means of awarding those technology leaders for their contributions.

IEEE Computer Society's technical, service, and education awards recognize outstanding achievements and highlight significant contributors in the teaching and R&D computing communities. All members of the profession are invited to nominate individuals who they consider most eligible to receive international recognition of an appropriate society award. The deadline to make a nomination ( is 15 October.

IEEE Computer Society recognizes outstanding work by computer professionals who advance the field through exceptional technical achievement and service to the profession and to society, with the following major technical awards:

• Computer Entrepreneur Award (, which recognizes the technical managers and entrepreneurial leaders who are responsible for the growth of some segment of the computer industry;

• Computer Pioneer Award (, which honors outstanding individuals whose main contribution to the concepts and development of the computer field was made at least 15 years ago;

• Harry H. Goode Award (, for achievements in the information processing field;

• Hans Karlsson Standards Award (, for development or promotion of standards;

• W. Wallace McDowell Award (, which is presented for outstanding recent theoretical, design, educational, practical, or other similar innovative contributions;

• Harlan D. Mills Award (, for outstanding contributions to the theory and practice of the information sciences;

• Technical Achievement Awards, for outstanding and innovative contributions to the fields of computer and information science and engineering or computer technology.

Two major awards are handed out to recognize contributions in the education arena. They are the:

• Taylor L. Booth Education Award (, for outstanding record in computer science and engineering education; and the

• Computer Science and Engineering Undergraduate Teaching Award (, for outstanding contributions to undergraduate education through teaching and service.

Seven different types of service awards are given out to recognize volunteer and staff contributions. The Richard E. Merwin Distinguished Service Award ( is the highest-level volunteer service award and is given for outstanding service to the profession at large, including significant service to the Computer Society.

If you know of someone deserving of recognition for their accomplishments, consider nominating them for an award by the 15 October deadline. To find out more, visit

About IEEE Computer Society

IEEE Computer Society is the world's leading computing membership organization and the trusted information and career-development source for a global workforce of technology leaders including: professors, researchers, software engineers, IT professionals, employers, and students. The unmatched source for technology information, inspiration, and collaboration, the IEEE Computer Society is the source that computing professionals trust to provide high-quality, state-of-the-art information on an on-demand basis. The Computer Society provides a wide range of forums for top minds to come together, including technical conferences (, publications (, and a comprehensive digital library (, unique training webinars (, professional training (, and the TechLeader Training Partner Program ( to help organizations increase their staff's technical knowledge and expertise. To find out more about the community for technology leaders, visit

IEEE Computer Society
IEEE Computer Society News
Daily News
Weekly News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share