Bewitching Book Tour for How to Be a Man by Tamara Linse Starts Feb 10

“Never acknowledge the fact that you’re a girl, and take pride when your guy friends say, ‘You’re one of the guys.’ Tell yourself, ‘I am one of the guys,’ even though, a little voice says, ‘But you’ve got girl parts.’”
 
 
How to Be a Man Button 300 x 225
How to Be a Man Button 300 x 225
 
Spread the Word
Listed Under

Tags:
Tamara Linse
Bewitching
Book Tours
Virtual Tour

Industrys:
Books
Media

Location:
Laramie - Wyoming - US

Subject:
Events

LARAMIE, Wyo. - Jan. 31, 2014 - PRLog -- Laramie, Wyoming

Tamara embarks on a month long Bewitching Book Tour for her book How to Be a Man, starting February 10, 2014.

A girl whose self-worth revolves around masculinity, a bartender who loses her sense of safety, a woman who compares men to plants, and a boy who shoots his cranked-out father.

These are a few of the hard-scrabble characters in Tamara Linse’s debut short story collection, How to Be a Man. Set in contemporary Wyoming—the myth of the West taking its toll—these stories reveal the lives of tough-minded girls and boys, self-reliant women and men, struggling to break out of their lonely lives and the emotional havoc of their families to make a connection, to build a life despite the odds. How to Be a Man falls within the tradition of Maile Meloy, Tom McGuane, and Annie Proulx.


How to Be a Man

Tamara Linse


Genre: Literary Short Story Collection

Publisher: Willow Words

ISBN: 0991386701 ISBN: 099138671X B00HKSLFSQ

ISBN-13: 978-0-9913867-0-3 ISBN-13: 978-0-9913867-1-0

Number of pages: 238

Word Count: 59,650

“Never acknowledge the fact that you’re a girl, and take pride when your guy friends say, ‘You’re one of the guys.’ Tell yourself, ‘I am one of the guys,’ even though, in the back of your mind, a little voice says, ‘But you’ve got girl parts.’” – Birdie, in “How to Be a Man”

A girl whose self-worth revolves around masculinity, a bartender who loses her sense of safety, a woman who compares men to plants, and a boy who shoots his cranked-out father.

These are a few of the hard-scrabble characters in Tamara Linse’s debut short story collection, How to Be a Man. Set in contemporary Wyoming—the myth of the West taking its toll—these stories reveal the lives of tough-minded girls and boys, self-reliant women and men, struggling to break out of their lonely lives and the emotional havoc of their families to make a connection, to build a life despite the odds. How to Be a Man falls within the tradition of Maile Meloy, Tom McGuane, and Annie Proulx.

About the Author:

Tamara Linse-writer, cogitator, recovering ranch girl-grew up on a ranch in northern Wyoming with her farmer/rancher rock-hound ex-GI father, her artistic musician mother from small-town middle America, and her four sisters and two brothers. She jokes that she was raised in the 1880s because they did things old-style—she learned how to bake bread, break horses, irrigate, change tires, and be alone, skills she’s been thankful for ever since. The ranch was a partnership between her father and her uncle, and in the 80s and 90s the two families had a Hatfields and McCoys-style feud.

Tamara broke her collarbone when she was three, her leg when she was four, a horse when she was twelve, and her heart ever since. Raised on a ranch in northern Wyoming, she earned her master’s in English from the University of Wyoming, where she taught writing. Her work appears in the Georgetown Review, South Dakota Review, and Talking River, among others, and she was a finalist for an Arts & Letters and Glimmer Train contests, as well as the Black Lawrence Press Hudson Prize for a book of short stories. She works as an editor for a foundation and a freelancer. Find her online at tamaralinse.com and tamara-linse.blogspot.com

She worked her way through the University of Wyoming as a bartender, waitress, and editor. At UW, she was officially in almost every college on campus until she settled on English and after 15 years earned her bachelor’s and master’s in English. While there, she taught writing, including a course called Literature and the Land, where students read Wordsworth and Donner Party diaries during the week and hiked in the mountains on weekends. She also worked as a technical editor for an environmental consulting firm.

She still lives in Laramie, Wyoming, with her husband Steve and their twin son and daughter. She writes fiction around her job as an editor for a foundation. She is also a photographer, and when she can she posts a photo a day for a Project 365. Please stop by Tamara’s website, www.tamaralinse.com, and her blog, Writer, Cogitator, Recovering Ranch Girl, at www.tamara-linse.blogspot.com. You can find an extended bio there with lots of juicy details. Also friend her on Facebook and follow her on Twitter, and if you see her in person, please say hi.

To receive a review copy, arrange an interview, guest blog, or event with the author please contact Roxanne Rhoads RoxanneRhoads@bewitchingbooktours.com

Contact
Bewitching Book Tours
roxannerhoads@bewitchingbooktours.com
End
Source:
Email:***@bewitchingbooktours.com Email Verified
Tags:Tamara Linse, Bewitching, Book Tours, Virtual Tour
Industry:Books, Media
Location:Laramie - Wyoming - United States
Subject:Events
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
Bewitching Book Tours PRs
Trending News
Top Daily News
Top Weekly News



Like PRLog?
9K2K1K
Click to Share