HBCU CDAC Board Elects New Board Members

Membership Elects Three New Directors Representing Winston-Salem State University, Hinds Community College and University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff
Spread the Word
Listed Under

* Community Development
* University Development
* Hbcu
* Black Colleges
* Economic Development

* Real Estate
* Education

* US

* Executives

Jan. 15, 2013 - PRLog -- The Board of the HBCU Community Development Action Coalition (HBCU CDAC), the leading national community development organization representing historically black colleges, minority serving institutions (MSIs), community development corporations (CDCs) and the community economic development industry, today announced that it elected Carol Davis, executive director, SGACDC to the board, and Bobby Pamplin, director, Hinds Community College-Utica Campus HUD-HBCU Program and Henry Golatt, director, Economic Research and Development Center at the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff were re-elected.

“We have done a remarkable job of building and strengthening the HBCU CDAC over the past few years through the leadership and dedication of the staff and board of directors,” said Larry Salley, Interim Chairman. “I look forward to continuing that work as we move into the new year.”

“As we embark on a new era of community development amidst the rebuilding of our economy, the HBCU CDAC is committed to working with policy makers and community leaders in Washington, DC and across the country to promote affordable, healthy and sustainable communities,” said Ron Butler, HBCU CDAC executive director. “As the voice of community development for HBCU’s and MSIs, the HBCU CDAC is dedicated to advancing sound business practices, ensuring community growth around our campuses and serving as an knowledge resource while promoting industry growth.”

HBCU CDAC’s 11 elected directors also include the following incumbent directors: Larry Salley, Executive Director-Benedict Allen CDC, Benedict College (Interim Chairman); Jeffrey Higgs, Executive Director-LeMoyne-Owen College CDC (Treasurer); Linda Tillman, Director-Center for Community Engagement, Langston University (Secretary); Ilene Garner, Director-Center for Life Long Learning, University of the Virgin Islands; Darrin Dixon, Director-Business and Community Development Center, Southern University at Shreveport; Lawrence Haygood, Jr., Community Business Development Specialist-Tuskegee University; Sherrill Hampton, Special Assistant to the President/Director-Center for Applied Leadership and Community Development, Johnson C. Smith University; Morris Autry, Director-Community Development, Elizabeth City State University.

The Board extended its appreciation to the outgoing chair, Emily M. Dickens, Esq. The HBCU CDAC is grateful for her dedication, time and service to the Board. Her commitment to the industry and to advancing the mission of HBCU CDAC was outstanding as we worked through a challenging year.

Note to Reporters: Photos and biographies are available upon request.
Source:Anesnah Design & Marketing
Email:***@creativityassured.com Email Verified
Tags:Community Development, University Development, Hbcu, Black Colleges, Economic Development
Industry:Real Estate, Education
Location:United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse

Like PRLog?
Click to Share