Major Standards Development Organizations Agree on a Global Initiative for M2M Standardization

Major Standards Development Organizations have taken initial steps to form a global initiative for M2M Standardization.
By:
 
Jan. 17, 2012 - PRLog -- Major Standards Development Organizations (the “SDOs”*) -- ARIB, ATIS, CCSA, ETSI, TIA, TTA, and TTC -- recognize that M2M services often rely upon communications networks for connectivity between the myriad of devices in the field and the M2M application servers, and have identified the need for a common cost-efficient, easily and widely available M2M Service Layer, which can be readily embedded within various hardware and software. As a result, the SDOs, meeting over the course of the past several months, have also identified the need for a cooperative M2M community standards activity, and have agreed to jointly address the challenge of common standardized solutions. The SDOs have taken initial steps to form a global initiative for M2M Standardization.

This global initiative will seek to develop globally agreed M2M end to end specifications and reports with initial focus on the Service Layer using common use cases and architecture principles across multiple M2M applications. The initiative will develop specifications that will help drive multiple industries towards the goals of lowering operating and capital expenses, shortening time-to-market, creating mass-market economies of scale, simplifying the development of applications, leveraging the worldwide network for enhanced potential of services, expanding and accelerating global business opportunities, and avoiding standardization overlap.  In addition, the initiative will focus on cooperative efforts with other standards organizations and fora, including those representing specific aspects of M2M applications.

The SDOs agree that participation in the global initiative will be open to interested organizations and parties to provide opportunities for various levels of participation and provide flexibility for inputs from all market segments. The SDOs will establish a simple and effective operational structure which is responsive to the needs of the various stakeholders. The initiative will seek to balance regional requirements and differences, and to address their respective timeframes, with the primary goal to support global harmonization and consolidation.

The SDOs have agreed that the global initiative will be established early in 2012 and will then initiate the technical work to meet the challenges of rapidly evolving industries.

Current Participating SDOs *
The global initiative has currently gathered representatives from:  the Association of Radio Industries and Businesses (ARIB) and the Telecommunication Technology Committee (TTC) of Japan; the Alliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions (ATIS) and the Telecommunications Industry Association (TIA) of the USA; the China Communications Standards Association (CCSA); the European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI); and the Telecommunications Technology Association (TTA) of Korea.

Contacts*
ARIB:   Kohei Satoh (satoh@arib.or.jp), Masaaki Koga (koga@kddi.com)
ATIS:   Susan Miller (smiller@atis.org), Steve Barclay (sbarclay@atis.org)
CCSA:   Thomas Li (thomas.lili@huawei.com), Shizhuo Zhao (zhaosz@ccsa.org.cn)
ETSI:   Joachim Koss (joachim.koss@cinterion.com), Adrian Scrase (adrian.scrase@etsi.org)
TIA:   Cheryl Blum (cblum@tiaonline.org), Herb Congdon (hcongdon@tiaonline.org)
TTA:   Byoung-Moon Chin (bmchin@tta.or.kr), Yong Chang (yongchang@samsung.com)
TTC:    Tom Tomita (ftomita@ttc.or.jp), Tatsuo Takahashi (takahashi@ttc.or.jp)

# # #

ETSI produces globally-applicable ICT standards, including fixed, mobile, radio, converged, aeronautical, broadcast and IP technologies. An independent, not-for-profit association, ETSI's 700+ member companies come from 62 countries worldwide.
End
Email:***@etsi.org Email Verified
Phone:+33492944388
Zip:06921
Tags:M2m, Etsi, Tia, Atis, Standard
Industry:Telecom, Technology, Wireless
Location:Sophia Antipolis - Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur - France
Account Email Address Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
ETSI_ News
Trending
Most Viewed
Daily News



Like PRLog?
9K2K1K
Click to Share