Entertainment Journalists In All Media To Be Honored For Their Best Work By Los Angeles Press Club

Los Angeles Press Club is seeking the best work from entertainment journalists in print, broadcast and online for its 4th Annual National Entertainment Journalism Awards. New this year are Journalist of the Year and best use of Twitter and Facebook.
1 2
TV anchor presents LA Press Club Award
TV anchor presents LA Press Club Award
Aug. 3, 2011 - PRLog -- August 4, 2010 Hollywood CA

With entertainment journalism fast becoming one of the largest segments in media, the Los Angeles Press Club is seeking the best work of 2010-11 from all news platforms--issuing its Call for Entries for the 4th Annual National Entertainment Journalism Awards.

The almost 100-year-old club, situated in the heart of the nation's entertainment capital, will honor U.S.-based show business reporters and editors, and theater, film and television critics in all media—print, radio, TV and online. The contest is intended to be wide open – with journalists of every type and from every market invited to compete. Entries from international journalists working in another language are eligible.

The Early Bird Deadline is Friday, September 16th, 2011, at 6 p.m. Pacific time. Any entry
received after that day will pay $50 per entry instead of $40. Final Deadline is September 30th,.

Rules and entry forms are available at http://www.lapressclub.org.

New this year is Entertainment Journalist of the Year. Winner will receive a $1,000 check. Other new categories are use of Twitter or Facebook to report entertainment-related news.

“The public's thirst for entertainment news is at an all time high,” said LA Press Club President Will Lewis. “From the unprecedented financial success and technical breakthroughs of Avatar to the Jay Leno/Conan O’Brien fiasco at NBC, to the effect of iPad, mobile phones, and streaming on delivering entertainment, it’s been a tumultuous time in show business. At the same time the Club filling a void in journalism awards, we are spotlighting the importance of entertainment in all our lives.”

The awards will be announced at a ceremony at the historic Biltmore Hotel in LA. on November 20.

The Los Angeles Press Club is best known for presenting the Southern California Journalism Awards for 53 years that also honors national legends like Tom Brokaw, Dan Rather, Anderson Cooper, Lesley Stahl, Richard Engel and many other prestigious journalists.

International reporter Tony Ryttar filed this six minute report on the June 26, 2011 Awards Gala, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y79frYkgNw8

# # #

LAPC is one of the oldest and largest press clubs in America, representing journalists filing from all news platforms. Sponsors two journalism awards programs annually--the Southern California Journalism Awards & National Entertainment Journalism Awards.

Email:***@lapressclub.org Email Verified
Tags:Entertainment, Show Business, Journalism, Media, Online, Broadcast, Newspapers, Magazines, Awards, Blogs, Critics
Industry:Entertainment, Media, Advertising
Location:Hollywood - California - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
Page Updated Last on: Aug 04, 2011

Like PRLog?
Click to Share