Submit Your Book for the 2024 Grateful American Book Prize

The Grateful American Book Prize is awarded each year to high quality, 7th to 9th grade-level, historical fiction, and non-fiction, about the events and personalities that have shaped the United States since its founding.
ARLINGTON, Va. - May 10, 2024 - PRLog -- The Grateful American Book Prize is accepting submissions for books of non-fiction, fiction, and biographies -- for 7th to 9th graders -- published between August 1, 2023, and July 31, 2024.

The Grateful American Book Prize comes with a $13,000 cash award in commemoration of the 13 original Colonies, a lifetime membership at the New-York Historical Society, and a medallion created by Smith's mother, the renowned artist, Clarice Smith. Two Honorable Mention recipients receive $500 each, and the medallion.

"Over the past several decades schools have gradually de-emphasized history in the classroom; as a result, kids-now–do not know who George Washington and Benjamin Franklin are," according to David Bruce Smith, Co-founder of the Prize. "It's been a lingering problem for quite some time and so, at the behest and in collaboration with the late Dr. Bruce Cole, the former Chairman of the National Endowment for the Humanities, we established the Prize to engage young readers. As Dr. Cole put it, 'we are a country of historical amnesiacs' and perhaps historical 'page turners' for kids may be just what the doctor ordered."

Submit your book via the Grateful American Book Prize Submission Form.

The deadline for book submissions is July 31, 2024.

Media Contact
Grateful American Book Prize
Source: » Follow
Email:*** Email Verified
Tags:Book Award
Location:Arlington - Virginia - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse

Like PRLog?
Click to Share