New from Down & Out Books: LIKE WHITEWASHED TOMBS by Ryan Sayles

 
TAMPA, Fla. - Aug. 29, 2022 - PRLog -- Down & Out Books is pleased to announce that LIKE WHITEWASHED TOMBS, a crime thriller by Ryan Sayles, has been published on August 29, 2022 in trade paperback and ebook formats.

About LIKE WHITEWASHED TOMBS …

In the city of Rigid Creek, ugly things have come to blot out the light.

Corporal Joshua Marks struggles with his place life. A veteran officer and respected leader, he's reached the end of his tenure. Widowed, months from retirement, called to the priesthood. His partner, Officer Bale Hammond, a once respected hotshot who has slowly left a trail of errors and questionable actions. Burned-out, unsatisfied, tortured.

As autumn settles along the city, a man robs a liquor store for some quick cash but winds up leaving two dead bodies. The murderer escapes the police, only to be squeezed by both his dealer and his loan shark for more. Always more.

Tensions escalate as both Corporal Marks and Officer Hammond reach impasses in every aspect of their lives as well as their partnership. All the liquor store robber sees is an ever-increasing amount to his debt.

A fantastic storm on Halloween. Violation and carnage. Extreme failures. Corporal Marks looks at his world crashing around him, wanting to save his friend and partner from his self-induced downward spiral. Wanting to show him the light cannot be blotted out, even when they're in full dark. Officer Hammond wants to fix his broken life, but only has broken tools to use. Wants to stop feeling like a corpse with a pulse only because even death isn't through with him yet.

They all want redemption, but violence keeps getting in the way.

Meet the author …

RYAN SAYLES is the Derringer-nominated author of the Richard Dean Buckner hard-boiled PI series, The Subtle Art of Brutality, Warpath, and Albatross as well as the standalone novels Goldfinches and Together They Were Crimson. His short fiction has appeared in dozens of venues in both print and digital media. He was the editor of the clown-themed anthology Greasepaint & .45s and has been included in numerous others such as the Anthony Award-nominated Trouble in the Heartland: Crime Fiction Inspired by the Songs of Bruce Springsteen and Unloaded: Crime Writers Writing Without Guns.

In its twelfth year as an independent publisher of award-winning literary and crime fiction, Down & Out Books (https://downandoutbooks.com) is based in Tampa, Florida. For more information about the book, to request a review copy of the book, or to inquire about an interview with the author, contact info@downandoutbooks.com.

Contact
Lance Wright
***@downandoutbooks.com
End
Email:***@downandoutbooks.com Email Verified
Tags:Crime Thriller
Industry:Books
Location:Tampa - Florida - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
Down & Out Books News
Trending
Most Viewed
Daily News



Like PRLog?
9K2K1K
Click to Share