38th Annual National Shakespeare Competition Announces Winners

San Diego student from The Bishop School named as 1st place winner.
By: The English-Speaking Union
1 2
2021 National Shakespeare Competiton
2021 National Shakespeare Competiton
NEW YORK - April 28, 2021 - PRLog -- Adapting to the ever changing circumstances brought on by the global pandemic, the English-Speaking Union (ESU) hosted the 38th annual National Shakespeare Competition virtually for the second time ever.

This year's competition utilized Zoom, YouTube, text-to-vote, among other virtual technologies to bring the competition alive. The virtual platform enabled hundreds of students, schools, and spectators alike to tune in across the world.

Delilah Delgado of the ESU San Diego Branch won 1st Place. Due to Covid, her prize will be finalized at a later time. Her teacher, Samantha Howard of the Bishop's School will receive the $1000 Teacher Recognition Award.

Anna Sheehan of the ESU Boston Branch took 2nd Place. Due to Covid, Anna's prize will be finalized at a later time. Her teacher, Barbara Whitlock of Montrose School will receive the $500 Teacher Recognition Award.

Samuel Christian of the ESU Los Angeles Branch won 3rd Place. Samuel will take home the third place prize of $1000. His teacher, Elizabeth Dennehy of Los Angeles County High School for the Arts will receive the $250 Teacher Recognition Award.

The recipient of the $1,000 People's Choice Award prize in Spencer Morvillo of the Monmouth County Branch. He is a student of Smita Ganatra at Glen Ridge High School and received 487 votes.

Joining the winners in the final round of competition were Madeleine McKenney of the Cleveland Branch, Eli Carasso of Desert/Palm Springs Branch, Tyler Caro of the Hawaii Branch, Aliyah Pullin of the Kansas City Branch, Quinn Fitzgerald of the Kentucky Branch, Natalie Quintana of the Miami Branch, and Edme Guetschow of the Portland Branch.

Renowned members of the theater community judged the finalists' performances, including Dana Ivey, a 5 time Tony nominee and star of the Broadway stage and screen; Dakin Matthews, an award-winning playwright and star of Broadway's To Kill a Mockingbird; Eunice Roberts, acclaimed performer, playwright and Dean of BADA; Sara Enloe, NEH Fellow, 2003 Teacher of the Year, and Director of Education at the American Shakespeare Center; and Katey Parker, New York City High School teacher, 2020 New York City ESU TLab Scholar and 2001 National Shakespeare Competition 1st Place Winner.

More than 16,000 high school students, 2,000 teachers and 39 ESU Branches competed at the school, regional and national levels by performing a monologue and sonnet to demonstrate their understanding and ability to convey the meaning of their selected texts. The competition has been recognized by the Globe Center, the Children's Theatre Foundation of America and the American Academy of Achievement. For additional information regarding the English-Speaking Union National Shakespeare Competition, please visit www.shakespearecompetition.org.

For additional information about The English-Speaking Union, please visit www.esuus.org.

Source:The English-Speaking Union
Email:***@esuus.org Email Verified
Tags:Shakespeare, Scholarship, Competition, Award, Theater, Students, Teachers
Industry:Education, Arts, Non-profit
Location:New York City - New York - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse

Like PRLog?
Click to Share