Was it Every Really Okay to Be Fat?

The second in this year's NAAFA Webinar Series presented by Dina Amlund looks at the history of thin-privilege, fatphobia and shapewear through the ages. The term Rubenesque blinds us when we look at models Rubens actually painted. They were not fat!
By: NAAFA
 
 
Spread the Word
Listed Under

Tag:
Fat Rights

Industry:
Non-profit

Location:
Las Vegas - Nevada - US

LAS VEGAS - March 16, 2020 - PRLog -- NAAFA's Board of Directors is excited about the NAAFA Webinar Series 2020. The second in our series of presentations will be Was it ever okay to be fat? with Dina Amlund, a cultural historian and fat activist in Denmark. Join us on Saturday, March 21, 2020 at 10am PST/ 11am MST/ 12pm CST/ 1pm EST for this interesting look at reality.

We have been taught that in times when food was scarce and most people worked hard in the field, fatness was the ideal way to have a body. That fat women were admired for beauty and fat men were seen as powerful and strong. Is this true or just wishful thinking?

Ms. Amlund will go over the history of shapewear, share examples of fatphobia in literature and other sources, from Ancient Greece till the middle of the 20th century, and show that fatphobia and thin-privilege are absolutely not new phenomena.

Dina Amlund is a cultural historian and fat activist in Denmark. She teaches at various levels in academia and writes for feminist and mainstream media platforms. Dina also conducts presentations and diversity consultations at festivals, business events and more.

NAAFA's webinars are FREE OF CHARGE, an educational service to not only our members and the fat acceptance community, but to the world. All interested parties are welcome to join us. Of course we are always happy to accept donations to help support the efforts of NAAFA to realize Equality at Every Size.

These webinars will occur periodically throughout the year. All you need to do is register at: https://tinyurl.com/qra9dtc.

Founded in 1969, NAAFA is a non-profit fat rights organization dedicated to improving the quality of life for fat people. NAAFA works to eliminate discrimination based on body size and provide fat people with the tools for self-empowerment through public education, advocacy, and member support.

On the web: https://www.naafaonline.com/dev2/

Contact
Peggy Howell
pr@naafa.org
916-558-6880
End
Email:***@naafa.org Email Verified
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
NAAFA.org PRs
Trending News
Most Viewed
Top Daily News



Like PRLog?
9K2K1K
Click to Share