1. Latest News
  2. Submit Press Release
  1. PR Home
  2. Latest News
  3. Feeds
  4. Alerts
  5. Submit Free Press Release
  6. Journalist Account
  7. PRNewswire Distribution

2,123 Christians Killed For Faith In 2013 – Dr. John DeFilippis Urges Christians To Take A Stand

2,123 Christians were killed last year due to their faith. This number is nearly double the number from 2012. Dr. John DeFilippis, author of ‘The Quest of the Thirteen’, believes it is time for Christians to take a stand

 
 
Author John DeFilippis
Author John DeFilippis
PRLog - Jan. 22, 2014 - LONG BRANCH, N.J. -- In a recent article posted on the Fox News website, Open Doors, a group that tracks the number of persecuted Christians worldwide, revealed that 2,123 Christians were killed for the faith in 2013. This number is up considerably from the 2012 figure of 1,201. Dr. John DeFilippis, Christian author of ‘The Quest of the Thirteen’ and ‘The Birth of Malgyron,’ believes it is time for Christians to take a stand.

“History is coming full circle,” DeFilippis stated, “for the war on Christianity is clearly becoming more hostile and expansive. As the number of martyrs continues to grow, one can’t help but feel as though our present-day society is reverting back to the days of Nero and the brutal persecutions he carried out in an attempt to extirpate the Christians. But just as Nero fiddled while Rome burned, so the majority of today’s Christians are standing idly by as Muslims, atheists, and secular progressives launch unceasing attacks against our faith.”

Dr. John DeFilippis writes epic fantasy fiction for Christian readers. In the tradition of J.R.R. Tolkien and C.S. Lewis, his novels bring to mind the adventure and excitement of Jason and the Argonauts, The Odyssey, and the Arthurian legend of the Holy Grail.

‘The Quest of the Thirteen’ and ‘The Birth of Malgyron’ are the first two volumes of DeFilippis’ epic fantasy series titled ‘The Medallion of Mavinor.’ The series starts with thirteen loyal subjects being selected and trained to make an arduous quest to retrieve the long lost Medallion of Mavinor. Together they work against nearly impossible odds— rugged terrain, mythical beasts, death-defying adventures and, worst of all, betrayal in their ranks—in order to complete their mission. In the sequel, an evil plot is hatched to overthrow the king, one that has dire consequences not only for the kingdom of Mavinor, but for the entire world. The heroes of the story are forced to band together and fight to thwart the plot before it is too late.

Ultimately the novels are about an extraordinary effort to resurrect a kingdom and the faith of its people in a world where that faith is quickly waning. They serve as an allegory for the assault on Christianity in modern-day society. While the work is classified as epic fantasy fiction, traditional Christian values lie at the very heart of the story and Dr. DeFilippis considers himself to be a Christian author. He is a devout conservative Catholic, and an avid supporter of religious freedom in an age of growing secularism.

“The time has come for all of us,” DeFilippis continued, “whether Catholic, Orthodox, or Protestant—to unite for a common purpose and take a stand before it’s too late. If there’s one thing I know, it’s that Christ would not want us to go down without a fight.”

Dr. John DeFilippis is available for media interviews and can be reached using the information below or by email at jdefilippis@optonline.net. ‘The Quest of the Thirteen’ and the sequel, ‘The Birth of Malgyron’, are available in print, ebook and pdf formats from Crossroad Press. ‘The Quest of the Thirteen’ is also available in audiobook format. More information is available at his website at http://www.drjohndefilippis.com.

About Dr. John DeFilippis:

Dr. John DeFilippis was born on March 9, 1970 in Bayonne, New Jersey. He grew up in the Greenville section of Jersey City, graduating from Our Lady of Mercy Grammar School in 1984. In 1988 he graduated from Saint Peter’s Prep and went on to study at Rutgers College in New Brunswick, New Jersey. After earning his Bachelor of Science degree, Dr. DeFilippis attended the School of Theology at Seton Hall University for three years, from 1993 to 1996. During this time he earned his master’s degree in theology and discerned a call to the Catholic priesthood. After ultimately deciding that he did not have a religious vocation, Dr. DeFilippis transitioned into the field of education.

He taught for four years at both the elementary and secondary levels, and earned a second master’s degree in educational administration. In 2000 Dr. DeFilippis made yet another transition, this time accepting an offer to become an academic administrator at Saint Peter’s University in Jersey City. He would spend the next seven years there, and in 2007 he completed his Ph.D. in educational leadership at Seton Hall University. After finishing his doctoral degree, he accepted an offer to become a director in the Division of Academic Affairs at New Jersey City University.

But through all the years of earning graduate degrees, teaching, and working in educational administration, Dr. DeFilippis never lost sight of his childhood dream. That dream was to become a published author, and through tireless work and relentless persistence, his dream was ultimately fulfilled.


--- End ---

Click to Share

Contact Email:
***@heavenonearthsystem.com Email Verified
Source:Dr. John DeFilippis
Location:long branch - New Jersey - United States
Industry:Books, Entertainment
Tags:john defilippis, author, epic fiction, fantasy novel, Christian
Shortcut:prlog.org/12271704
Verified Account Email Address
Verified Account Phone Number

Disclaimer:   Issuers of the press releases are solely responsible for the content of their press releases. PRLog can't be held liable for the content posted by others.   Report Abuse

Latest Press Releases By “

More...

Trending News...



  1. SiteMap
  2. Privacy Policy
  3. Terms of Service
  4. Copyright Notice
  5. About
  6. Advertise
Like PRLog?
9K2K1K
Click to Share