On September 26th at 2 p.m., Susan Edwards, Salem State University archivist, will lead a tour focusing on the history and architecture of this institution of higher learning. Beginning first as a Normal School, the university has historic connections to the public school movement of the mid-to-late 19th century, spear-headed by Horace Mann, Nathaniel Hawthorne’s brother-in-law. Join Ms. Edwards in front of the Sullivan Building at the corner of Loring and Lafayette Streets. After exploring the campus, head toward the Forest River with Margherita Desy and learn about the history of the Salem Lead Mills and the naturally occurring lead found in the area.
Both tours will last approximately 90 minutes and are the latest in Historic Salem’s annual Sundays in September Walking Tours, which each year explore a different aspect of Salem’s history and architecture. Tours in recent years have highlighted the path of the Salem fire, the architecture of Samuel McIntire, Salem during the Revolution, and the evolution of the Northfields neighborhood and its two garden cemeteries.
A suggested donation of $5 for members and $10 for non-members for the Sept.12th tour will contribute to Historic Salem’s Preservation Mission. The Sept. 26th tour is free and is being offered in conjunction with Essex National Heritage Area’s Trails and Sails Weekend. For further information please call (978) 745-0799 or visit www.historicsalem.org. Founded in 1944, Historic Salem Inc. is dedicated to the preservation of historic homes and sites.
# # #
Historic Salem has operated as a non-profit preservation organization. The Board of Directors is comprised of individuals whose professional and personal experience have allowed it to serve for over 50 years as Salem's historical resource and advocate.