CARBONELL AWARDS is Seeking Nominations for Six Special Awards

WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. - June 14, 2024 - PRLog -- (South Florida – June 13, 2024) Gary Schweikhart, president of the Carbonell Awards, today announced that "South Florida's Theater & Arts Honors" is seeking nominations for up to six Special Awards that will be presented at the Carbonell Awards Ceremony on Monday, November 11, at 7:30 p.m. at the Lauderhill Performing Arts Center at 3800 NW 11th Place, Lauderhill, FL 33311. Tickets are only $45 each (including facility fee) and will be available soon for public purchase.

The Carbonell Special Awards include:

** The Vinnette Carroll Award for significant achievement in advancing the cause of diversity, equality, and inclusion in South Florida theater.

Previous winners of this award are Christie Alexander & Katie Christie, for leading the South Florida Theatre League's AntiRacism Theatre Strategies Cohorts (2023); and Marshall L. Davis, who has served for nearly 40 years as managing director of the African Heritage Cultural Arts Center (AHCAC) in Miami's Liberty City (2022).

** The Charlie Cinnamon Award honors an individual who contributes significantly to the support of the arts in South Florida and to the Carbonell Awards program.

Previous Cinnamon Award winners include veteran reviewer and founder of, Bill Hirschman (2023); longtime critic and Carbonell judge Hap Erstein (2022), the Broward Center's Director of Marketing Jennifer Sierra-Grobbelaar (2019); Tony Finstrom, playwright and founder of the Silver Palm Awards, (2018); and longtime arts patron and Carbonell judge Jerome J. (Jerry) Cohen (2017).

** The Ruth Foreman Award recognizes contributions to South Florida theater development by an individual or group, for singular achievement and/or career contributions.

Recent Foreman Award winners include the Maltz Jupiter Theatre (2023); Teresa María Rojas (2022); The Amparo Experience (2020); Juggerknot Theatre Company (2019); Nicole Stodard (2018); and  Florida Children's Theatre (2016).

** The Bill Hindman Award honors significant, long-term contributions to the region's cultural life and onstage career achievement by performing artists based in South Florida.

Attached Images:

(Photos courtesy of the Carbonell Awards, Inc.)

1. Actor-director-playwright-producer Ronnie Larsen receiving The Howard Kleinberg Award at last year's 46th annual Carbonell Awards ceremony.

2. Matthew Korinko and Patrick Fitzwater, co-founders of Slow Burn Theatre Company, accepting The Bill von Maurer Award for Theatrical Excellence in 2023.

Available for Interview:

Gary Schweikhart

Carbonell Board President

Source: » Follow
Email:*** Email Verified
Location:West Palm Beach - Florida - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
PR by Schweikhart News
Most Viewed
Daily News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share