Albany's Glenn Clark Scores Double Honor as NLL Coach of the Year and General Manager of the Year

Architect of amazing turnaround first to win both awards since 2020 as FireWolves vie for the franchise's first championship this weekend
Glenn Clark, Photo By Jenn Pierce/NLL
Glenn Clark, Photo By Jenn Pierce/NLL
PHILADELPHIA - May 15, 2024 - PRLog -- Albany FireWolves General Manager and Head Coach Glenn Clark, whose experience in the sport and vision for the franchise has led to one of the most pronounced one-season turnarounds in National Lacrosse League (@NLL) history, today earned the League's highest honor for both positions as he was selected as the NLL "Les Bartley Award" (Coach of the Year) and NLL General Manager of the Year.

Clark's FireWolves, after finishing last with a 3-15 record in 2022-23, went 11-7 this season to earn the No. 3 seed in the NLL Playoffs. Albany has since won its first two playoff rounds and will have home floor advantage against the defending NLL champion Buffalo Bandits in the 2024 NLL Finals presented by AXIA Time, beginning Friday (7 p.m., TSN, TSN+, ESPN+) at MVP Arena.

Clark was a standout defenseman from 1998 to 2006, mostly with the Toronto Rock, where he won five NLL Championships, before being named the team's head coach following the 2006 campaign. After a three-year run in Toronto, he returned to the League in 2015 as head coach of the New England Black Wolves, winning his first Les Bartley Award in 2016. He then accompanied the franchise in its move to Albany prior to the 2021-22 season.

He is the first dual winner of both awards since Paul Day of the Philadelphia Wings was selected for both honors in 2020. Other dual honorees include Derek Keenan with the Portland Lumberjax (2006) and Edmonton Rush (2010 and 2014), and the Arizona Sting's Bob Hamley (2005).

About the National Lacrosse League

The National Lacrosse League (NLL) is North America's largest professional lacrosse league and welcomed more than 1 million fans for the second year in a row during the 2023-24 season. Founded in 1986, the NLL is comprised of 15 franchises across the United States and Canada, and recently unveiled its largest brand campaign ever, "Welcome to The Next Major League (™" and introduced its comprehensive grassroots initiative, NLL UnBOXed (™, that will expand the League's footprint to more than 60 communities across North America by 2027.

Media Contact
Jerry Milani
Source: » Follow
Email:*** Email Verified
Location:Philadelphia - Pennsylvania - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
National Lacrosse League PRs
Trending News
Most Viewed
Top Daily News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share