Dade Heritage Trust Celebrates 2024 Annual Preservation Awards

Winners are ensuring that Miami's history is saved for generations to come
By: Dade Heritage Trust
MIAMI - April 25, 2024 - PRLog -- Dade Heritage Trust (DHT) celebrated its Annual Preservation Awards on April 18 at the Coral Gables Woman's Club, recognizing outstanding efforts to preserve Miami-Dade County's architectural, environmental, and cultural heritage. The event honored individuals, organizations, and businesses committed to this cause.

Christine Rupp, DHT's Executive Director, highlighted the importance of preserving our shared history, stating, "Our built environment tells the stories that define us. By honoring these efforts, we inspire others to join in, ensuring our heritage is cherished for generations."

Recipients of the 2024 DHT Annual Preservation Awards included:
  • Jeff Ransom, Chief Archaeologist at Miami-Dade County Office of Historic Preservation, recognized for his work in identifying archaeological sites threatened by sea-level rise.
  • Miami Pioneers and Natives of Dade, a historical society preserving the legacy of early settlers, commended for their commitment to South Florida's pioneer heritage.
  • Arch Creek Trust, dedicated to protecting and preserving historic Arch Creek Park and its natural environment.
  • Torre Construction's restoration of the La Palma Hotel, preserving its architectural integrity while transforming it into a modern culinary destination.
  • Friends of Biscayne Bay, celebrated for 50 years of advocacy and preservation efforts in protecting the Biscayne Bay Aquatic Preserves.
  • Town Hall Museum in Homestead, honored for showcasing artifacts and photographs depicting the city's rich heritage.
  • Julia & Henry's, recognized for adaptive reuse of the historic 1936 Walgreens Building in Downtown Miami.
  • Grove Park neighborhood, honored for its listing on the National Register of Historic Places.
  • Patrizia Bonaduce, recognized for leadership in historic preservation in the Village of Miami Shores.
  • Commodore Trail Advocacy Group, acknowledged for efforts to improve the urban trail connecting Coconut Grove to Coral Gables.
  • Shawn Beightol, a teacher at John A. Ferguson Senior High School, honored for dedication to preserving the Miami River's history through educational tours.
  • T & G Constructors, for the restoration of Christ Fellowship Church.
  • Alex and Marta Silvas, recognized for meticulous restoration of their 1923 H. George Fink-designed home in Coral Gables.
  • R.J. Heisenbottle Architects, honored for restoration of the 1925 Citizens Bank Building in Downtown Miami's Omni neighborhood.
  • Seth Bramson, author and historian, acknowledged for preserving South Florida's history through the BRAMSON ARCHIVE.
  • Coconut Grove Crisis Food Pantry, celebrated for 40 years of community service.
  • Angel Sosa, honored for stewardship of the historic Gulf Gas Station on Coral Way.

Dade Heritage Trust congratulates all recipients for their contributions to historic preservation. For more information, visit

Media Contact
Jeanmarie Ferrara
Source:Dade Heritage Trust
Email:*** Email Verified
Tags:Historic Preservation
Location:Miami - Florida - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
Wragg & Casas Strategic Communications News
Most Viewed
Daily News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share