TCPI Honors Hank Gutman at Annual Symposium

By: Tax Council Policy Institute
WASHINGTON - April 18, 2024 - PRLog -- The Tax Council Policy Institute (TCPI) announced today that Hank Gutman, Of Counsel at Ivins Phillips & Barker, will be awarded the 2024 Pillar of Excellence Award in recognition of his substantial and meaningful contributions to the tax community and continual efforts to formulate sound tax policy. The award will be presented at TCPI's 25th Annual Tax Policy & Practice Symposium held May 16-17 in Washington, D.C.

"The Pillar of Excellence Award is given to deserving individuals who have demonstrated throughout their career a commitment to advancing sound tax law and policy, thereby helping further our mission at the TCPI," said Urvi Doshi Sood, Chair of TCPI's Board of Directors and Vice President of Taxes and General Tax Counsel at Lockheed Martin Corporation. "It was an easy and unanimous decision by the Board to recognize Hank with this award for his decades of commitment to advancing sound tax policy during his career in both the public and private sectors."

Mr. Gutman is the fourteenth recipient of this award, which honors individuals who play a key role in the formulation of tax policy and the discourse that moves it forward, while serving as a prominent fixture in the tax community at large.

"Hank's contribution to the tax policy community is consequential," said Lynda K. Walker, Esq., Executive Director and General Counsel of TCPI.  "From 1991 to 1993, as Chief of Staff, he led the nonpartisan staff of the Joint Committee on Taxation assisting Congress in the development and analysis of legislative proposals, and oversaw the revenue estimates of all tax legislation considered by Congress.  Hank also served as Deputy Tax Legislative Counsel in the Treasury Department Office of Tax Policy, where he received the Treasury Exceptional Service Award.  After his tenure in the public sector, he spent almost two decades leading KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services group, advising and represented clients on various implications of tax legislative change and policy matters.  Hank's passion and enthusiasm for tax policy issues is palpable and contagious; he always encourages us to think outside of the box while seeking equitable options for the fiscal needs of the country."

Qualifications for the Pillar of Excellence Award include playing a key role in developing tax policy and actively participating in opportunities to advance the knowledge and understanding of other tax professionals, business leaders and policy makers.  Past honorees have included Eric Solomon, Bernard Shapiro, John Buckley, Lawrence B. Gibbs, Janice Mays, Mark Weinberger, Thomas Barthold, Pamela F. Olson, Mark A. Prater, Martin A. Sullivan, Grace Perez-Navarro, Barbara Angus, and Bob Stack.

For more details about the 2024 TCPI Symposium, please visit

Debbie Siu
Source:Tax Council Policy Institute
Email:*** Email Verified
Location:Washington - District of Columbia - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse

Like PRLog?
Click to Share