Michigan Philharmonic performance highlights spectacular Tchaikovsky symphony

Internationally acclaimed Korean-American cellist also featured
By: Michigan Philharmonic
PLYMOUTH, Mich. - Feb. 29, 2024 - PRLog -- A spectacular symphony by famed Russian composer Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky is at the heart of the Michigan Philharmonic's upcoming March 10 concert, a performance that also features an internationally acclaimed Korean-American cellist.

As one of Michigan's finest orchestras, the Plymouth-based Philharmonic celebrates a wide range of classical and pops music that connects, engages, and creates unique experiences. This month the symphony continues celebrating its long-running Music Director and Conductor Nan Washburn, who has led the regional symphony for 25 years.

The Philharmonic's "Tchaikovsky Spectacular" will showcase Tchaikovsky's masterful "Symphony No. 5 in E Minor, Op. 64" as well as the overture for Mozart's "Cosi fan tutte K. 588" and the Michigan premiere of a piece by British composer. That piece, "Dance for Cello and Orchestra," crafted by Anna Clyne, will feature cellist Deborah Pae.

The Tchaikovsky concert is planned for 2 p.m. on Sunday, March 10 at the First Methodist Church in Plymouth. There will also be a pre-concert talk with Washburn beginning at 1:15 p.m.

The Korean-American cellist Pae has received international acclaim for her powerful performances. She emerged onto the international stage in 2003, making her debut at the 45th Grammy Awards, and has enjoyed an award-winning career as a soloist and chamber musician with performances at major festivals and concert series throughout North America and Europe. Pae is the cellist of award-winning ensembles, the Formosa Quartet and the Namirovsky-Lark-Pae Trio.

She is a graduate of the Juilliard School, New England Conservatory and is an associate professor of Cello at Eastern Michigan University (EMU), where she is a recipient of the 2021 Ronald W. Collins Distinguished Faculty Award, the highest honor EMU presents to a faculty member. Pae also serves on the faculty at the National Youth Orchestra of Canada and the Formosa Chamber Music Festival.

Anna Clyne is an English composer who now resides in New York City. She has worked in both acoustic music and electro-acoustic music. Her "Dance for Cello" includes five movements and is named for a poem by the 13th-century poet Rumi.

Tickets for the March concert are available at the Philharmonic's website: www.michiganphil.org. For information, contact (734) 451-2112.

Source:Michigan Philharmonic
Email:***@logos-communications.com Email Verified
Location:Plymouth - Michigan - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
Logos Communications, Inc. News
Most Viewed
Daily News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share