Nevada Driving Laws for Seniors

Nevada Insurance Enrollment Explains Nevada Has Special Rules for Older Drivers
LAS VEGAS - Feb. 10, 2024 - PRLog -- As is the case in most states, Nevada has a set of rules for older drivers to ensure their safety and the safety of everyone they share the road with. Age-related factors such as decreased hearing and vision, cognitive decline, slower reaction times, increasingly limited motor skills and certain medications can take a toll on how safe an individual is when they're operating a vehicle. Studies have shown that advancing age is associated with higher fatal crash rates.

To help minimize the risk, Nevada enforces laws to help seniors limit how long they spend driving a vehicle.

Renewing a License
Once a Nevada resident turns 65 years old, the state requires them to renew their license every four years rather than every eight years. Some drivers may receive a full-page application with their renewal notice. If that is the case, they may renew their license by fax or mail. If they receive a renewal notice without an application, they must visit their local DMV in person.

When an older adult renews their license, they are required to complete a vision test. The DMV conducts the test for free, but individuals may opt to complete the test with their physician or optometrist within 90 days of the renewal notice. They may be required to complete vision tests more frequently at the discretion of their doctor or the DMV.

Depending on their medical and driving history, older drivers may also have to complete a written and/or road test to demonstrate driving proficiency.

Read the full article:

Learn more:

Nevada Insurance Enrollment
4260 W. Craig Road suite #150-A
North Las Vegas, NV 89032
(702) 898-0554

Nevada Insurance Enrollment
Shelly Rogers
Source: » Follow
Email:*** Email Verified
Tags:Auto Insurance
Location:Las Vegas - Nevada - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse

Like PRLog?
Click to Share