NLL Welcomes and Celebrates Lacrosse's Return to the Summer Olympic Games in Los Angeles in 2028

The National Laccrosse League celebrates Monday's official vote.
World Lacrosse
World Lacrosse
PHILADELPHIA - Oct. 16, 2023 - PRLog -- The National Lacrosse League today joined World Lacrosse and all other stakeholders, athletes, and partners of the sport in celebrating the International Olympic Committee's official vote to include lacrosse in the Summer Olympic Games in Los Angeles in 2028.

"Today's historic announcement bringing sixes lacrosse to the 2028 Summer Olympic Games in Los Angeles cements our sport's status as an internationally recognized powerhouse primed for exponential growth," said Kurt Hunzeker, NLL Executive Vice President of Commercial Operations. "The NLL has something major going on, and now is our time to unbox our potential and amplify our intrinsic synergy with sixes-style lacrosse through our world-class game play and groundbreaking grassroots initiatives."

Founded in 1986, the National Lacrosse League is North America's premier professional lacrosse league, with its 15 current franchises drawing a record 1,165,528 fans attending games in 2022-23.

"The legacy, popularity, and growth of lacrosse in North America is poised for mass acceleration, inclusive of traditional epicenters and aspiring hotbeds alike," said Brett Frood, NLL Commissioner. "There is a robust appetite for all disciplines of the game and this Olympic opportunity will fortify a collective rise-the-tide mentality. Sixes is box lacrosse's close cousin, so the National Lacrosse League looks forward to doing its part in welcoming, surprising and energizing new and existing fans to our uniquely entertaining sport and game experience. On behalf of the NLL, we congratulate the LA28 Organizing Committee and World Lacrosse and fervently join the global lacrosse community in celebrating this monumental moment."

The 2023-24 NLL season will commence with NLL Faceoff Weekend the first weekend of December.

About the National Lacrosse League

The National Lacrosse League (NLL) is North America's premier professional lacrosse league, with a record 1,165,528 fans attending games in 2022-23. Founded in 1986, the NLL is comprised of 15 franchises across the United States and Canada: Albany FireWolves, Buffalo Bandits, Calgary Roughnecks, Colorado Mammoth, Georgia Swarm, Halifax Thunderbirds, Las Vegas Desert Dogs, New York Riptide, Panther City Lacrosse Club (Fort Worth, Texas), Philadelphia Wings, Rochester Knighthawks, San Diego Seals, Saskatchewan Rush, Toronto Rock, and Vancouver Warriors.

For the latest scores and developments in the National Lacrosse League, please visit: ( and find the NLL on Facebook (, Instagram (, Twitter (, YouTube ( and TikTok (

Media Contact
Jerry Milani
Source: » Follow
Email:*** Email Verified
Location:Philadelphia - Pennsylvania - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
National Lacrosse League News
Most Viewed
Daily News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share