CARBONELL AWARDS is Seeking Nominations for 2023 Special Awards

WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. - July 22, 2023 - PRLog -- (South Florida – July 21, 2023) Gary Schweikhart, president of the Carbonell Awards, today announced that "South Florida's Theater & Arts Honors" is seeking nominations for up to six Special Awards that will be presented at the Carbonell Awards Ceremony on Monday, November 13, at 7:30 p.m. at the Lauderhill Performing Arts Center at 3800 NW 11th Place, Lauderhill, FL 33311. Tickets are only $37 each (including facility fee) and will soon be available for public purchase.

The various Carbonell Special Awards include:

+ The Vinnette Carroll Award for significant achievement in advancing the cause of diversity, equality, and inclusion in South Florida theater. The inaugural winner of this award in 2022 was Marshall L. Davis, who has served for nearly 40 years as managing director of the African Heritage Cultural Arts Center (AHCAC) in Miami's Liberty City

+ The Charlie Cinnamon Award honors an individual who contributes significantly to the support of the arts in South Florida and to the Carbonell Awards program. Previous Cinnamon Award winners include longtime critic and Carbonell judge Hap Erstein (2022), the Broward Center's Director of Marketing Jennifer Sierra-Grobbelaar (2019); Tony Finstrom, playwright and founder of the Silver Palm Awards, (2018); and longtime arts patron and Carbonell judge Jerome J. (Jerry) Cohen (2017).

+ The Ruth Foreman Award recognizes contributions to South Florida theater development by an individual or group, for singular achievement and/or career contributions. Recent Foreman Award winners include Teresa María Rojas (2022); The Amparo Experience (2020); Juggerknot Theatre Company (2019); Nicole Stodard (2018); and  Florida Children's Theatre (2016).

+ The Bill Hindman Award honors significant, long-term contributions to the region's cultural life and onstage career achievement by performing artists based in South Florida. Recent Hindman Award winners include Margot Moreland (2022);  Barbara Bradshaw (2020); Harriet Oser (2015); and Don McArt (2013)

+ The Howard Kleinberg Award honors an individual or organization for contributions to the health and development of the arts in South Florida. Recent Kleinberg Award winners include Andie Arthur (2022); Deborah Margol (2018); Christine Dolen (2015); and Iris Acker (2014).

How to Submit Nominations for Carbonell Special Awards 2023

Before September 1, please email nominations to: and put "Carbonell Nomination" in the Subject Line:  Please include:

** Nominee's name

** Name of the Special Award for which you are making a nomination

** Why you believe he/she/they are worthy of consideration for this Special Award.

Available for Interview:

Gary Schweikhart

Carbonell Board President

561.756.4298  /

Media Contact:

Gino Campodónico

Adrienne Arsht Center

786.468.2228 /
Source: » Follow
Email:*** Email Verified
Location:West Palm Beach - Florida - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
PR by Schweikhart PRs
Trending News
Most Viewed
Top Daily News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share