Second Novel by Elizabeth Lynn Blackson Published

By: Tales of Wonder and Dread Publishing
POPLAR GROVE, Ill. - March 6, 2023 - PRLog -- "Old Black Water: Suffering Sequence: Book Two" has been published by Tales of Wonder and Dread on March 2nd. The book is by St. Louis area author Elizabeth Lynn Blackson. It is the second in a trilogy that was begun with the publication of "A Girl's Gotta Eat: Suffering Sequence: Book One" on July 2nd, 2022. In addition to writing the book, Blackson designed the cover.

The tagline for "Old Black Water" says, "The world is infested with shape-shifting, man-eating daemons. Who can save us?" The synopsis is summed up with this statement: " The stakes are higher, and the tone is even darker in the second installment in the trilogy that began with 'A Girl's Gotta Eat.'."

More detail is offered by the synopsis, "Javier Torres, ex-FBI Agent, battles with his deteriorating health as supernatural forces assail him from all sides and daemonic power awakens in him. Madison "Lucy" Carpenter knows the true name of a daemon, and dark forces stop at nothing to pry that information from her. LaTanya Jefferson is forced to confront her past in hopes of rescuing her best friend from unspeakable torment. Greg Tillman is dragged into the world of supernatural monsters and faces his most terrifying challenge: dating. The succubus Vespid is about to learn that there are things older and more powerful than daemons on Earth. - They're all about to learn what ancient things lie unseen beneath the 'Old Black Water.'"

Preview readers have given the book five stars out of five. Dan Fredrickson said, "For Book Two, Elizabeth Lynn Blackson upped her game. I liked the first book, 'A Girl's Gotta Eat,' quite a lot. I liked this book even more. This book pushes the envelope without my feeling as if it's the first book, only more. It pushes the envelope in a slightly different direction while adding to the sense of camaraderie among team members established in the first book and also the dread and psychological torture when things go very very wrong. If you liked 'A Girl's Gotta Eat,' then you'll want to read 'Old Black Water' as soon as you can."

Stacy Harris had this to say about it, "Elizabeth Blackson's Suffering Sequence is remarkable for two aspects: (1) very visceral horror, founded on not just bodily violence, but on an assault on sanity from the breakdown in reality that explicitly described shape-shifting, amoral not-of-this-world creatures represent; and (2) very gritty realism, a rub-it-in-your face depiction of very lifelike people embedded in realistically depicted St. Louis: This is modern urban horror,"

Both "Old Black Water" and "A Girl's Gotta Eat" are available in paperback and hardcover at

Source:Tales of Wonder and Dread Publishing
Email:*** Email Verified
Tags:Horror Books
Location:Poplar Grove - Illinois - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
Gary Hill PR PRs
Trending News
Most Viewed
Top Daily News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share