The importance of IT Asset Disposition (ITAD) accreditations and certifications

IT Asset Disposition (ITAD) is becoming a business-critical process and of utmost importance for business leaders.
By: Xperien CEO Wale Arewa
NATIONAL - ONLINE, South Africa - Feb. 13, 2023 - PRLog -- IT Asset Disposition (ITAD) is becoming a business-critical process and of utmost importance for business leaders. The drastic increase in data breaches worldwide has resulted in massive fines, class action lawsuits and a lot of negative reputational impact.

ITAD is a good example of third-party technology risk. Whilst a regulation breach may occur downstream at a third-party ITAD service provider, the company is still jointly liable. Third-party risk must be addressed and one needs to consider local and global standards and regulations that are relevant to the ITAD industry.

Some standards and regulations are industry-specific whilst others are more general and focus on environmental compliance and quality assurance. Businesses add a layer of certainty and assurance to their ITAD programme when appointing an accredited ITAD or e-Waste provider.

A well-defined data destruction strategy should be a part of every company's data destruction policy and if any third-party service providers are to be appointed, it is important that they are accredited and certified. Here is a guideline of some essential ITAD certifications and accreditations:

ITAD specific certifications

1.          ISO 9001 Quality Management Systems (QMS): Companies use this standard to demonstrate the ability to consistently provide products and services that meet customer and regulatory requirements. The service certified must be ITAD specific.

2.          R2v3: This certification is a voluntary sustainability standard that certifies responsible electronics processors. IT Asset Managers partnering with ITAD companies with R2v3-certified infrastructure can have increased confidence that their sensitive data is destroyed, that electronics with residual value will be reused, and that their assets won't end up in a landfill or in a dumping ground halfway around the world.

3.          e-Stewards: This certification was introduced in 2009 by the Basel Action Network (BAN). The BAN was founded with the aim of improving recyclers adherence to the Basel Convention.

4.          ADISA's IT Asset Recovery Certification: This is a UK-developed global standard for ITAD providers and was recently updated to version 8. The current version of the standard is approved by the UK Information Commissioner (ICO) as a UK GDPR certification scheme.

5.          NAID AAA Certification: The National Institute for Information Destruction (NAID) provides a certification program for their members. The standard was first developed in 2000 and now over 1000 facilities are certified worldwide.

Industry standards and certifications ensure that certified ITAD companies and recyclers are accredited by third-party auditor and certifying bodies to safely dispose of and recycle IT assets according to global norms.

For more info about Xperien (

Matt Lotter
Source:Xperien CEO Wale Arewa
Location:National - Online - National - Online - South Africa
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
Page Updated Last on: Feb 13, 2023

Like PRLog?
Click to Share