Follow on Google News
News By Tag
News By Location
Follow on Google News
Personal Injury Attorney educates consumers on PIP- Personal Injury Protection
Is Personal Injury Protection (PIP) required in Idaho? No, personal injury protection (PIP) is not required in Idaho. PIP is not even available in Idaho.
MedPay is similar to personal injury protection insurance in that both handle your medical bills even if you cause a car accident. But MedPay covers less than personal injury protection, with no provisions for lost wages or assistance with home tasks that you can't manage due to injury.
In states with no-fault laws, all drivers are required to purchase personal injury protection (PIP), as part of their auto insurance policies.
Idaho is an "at-fault" state, which means you must identify which driver caused the crash and file a damage claim with that person's insurance provider. You may need to gather evidence to prove fault if the other driver's insurance company tries to refute liability.
If you get into a crash with a driver that does not have insurance, and that driver was at fault for the wreck, you may need to rely on your own insurance coverage to pay for your property damage repairs and medical costs.
Though, your insurance may not cover your damages if you do not carry optional Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Insurance. In these situations, you may need to fall back on a personal injury claim for compensation instead. Idaho's fault-based laws allow crash victims to file lawsuits for their damages, even if the at-fault driver does not have insurance.
Accidents are almost never just a simple matter of one person being at fault and paying for the injuries caused. Usually, both parties bear some responsibility, and your attorneys and the courts will end up assigning a percentage of fault to each side. This principle is known as the rule of Modified Comparative Fault, and Idaho follows the 50 percent bar rule. This means that a victim may only recover damages if he or she is found to be responsible for 50 percent or less of the accident.
An experienced personal injury attorney can help you navigate Idaho's fault-based insurance laws after an accident or injury. Jacobson & Jacobson Law Firm can help you with your personal injury case. For more information, go to https://www.jjlawidaho.com or call 208-344-8474.
Page Updated Last on: Feb 23, 2023