Bandits' Dhane Smith Wins National Lacrosse LeagueMVPs; Teat Wins Rookie of the Year

Buffalo Forward Fifth To Win Multiple MVPs, Led League in Scoring; Teat Rewrites History Book for Rookies; All-League and Rookie Teams Announced
Dhane Smith & Jeff Teat
Dhane Smith & Jeff Teat
PHILADELPHIA - June 30, 2022 - PRLog -- The National Lacrosse League (@NLL), the largest and most successful professional lacrosse property in the world, today announced that Buffalo Bandits forward Dhane Smith has won the Most Valuable Player award for the 2021-22 season. With the selection, Smith is now one of five players in NLL history to win at least two MVPs. The league also announced Jeff Teat of the New York Riptide as Rookie of the Year as well as members of the First Team All-League, Second Team All-League and All-Rookie teams.

Smith, 29, shattered the single season assist record with 94, previously held by Mark Matthews with 84 in 2018-19. He also led the league in points at 135 and was only three points away from breaking his own single season points record which he set in his 2016 MVP season. He led an explosive Bandits club which had five players surpass the 30-goal mark en route and led the league with 13.7 goals scored per game to a league best 14-4 regular season record.

Teat, 25, was the first overall selection in the 2020 NLL Entry Draft and made his debut during the 2021-22 season. Despite missing two games, Teat finished fourth in the league in scoring with 108 points on 37 goals and 71 assists. As impressive, he recorded 111 loose balls, second on the team and second among rookies. The highly touted rookie had three games with 10 or more points with a season high of 12 on January 9 against the Buffalo Bandits. Teat shattered the NLL record for points and assists in a season by a rookie, helping lead the Riptide to a much improved 6-12 record compared to 1-12 in the shortened 2019-20 campaign.

The All-League teams are made up of six players each: two forwards, one transition player, two defensemen and one goaltender. The All-Rookie Team is made up of six rookies, regardless of position. The teams are comprised of the top vote getters for the season awards. All awards are based on regular season performance and were voted on prior to the 2022 NLL Playoffs.

See full list here:

Media Contact
Jerry Milani
Email:*** Email Verified
Location:Philadelphia - Pennsylvania - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
National Lacrosse League News
Most Viewed
Daily News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share