Bengals QB Joe Burrow Wins December 2021 Hickok Belt(R) Award

Remarkable passing performance - Career high of 525 passing yards - Named the AFC Offensive Player of the Week
ROCHESTER, N.Y. - Jan. 17, 2022 - PRLog -- Cincinnati Bengals quarterback Joe Burrow has been named the Hickok Belt(R) Award winner for the month of December 2021. Voting was conducted by a select panel of members of the National Sports Media Association (NSMA). The voters selected Burrow for his outstanding performance in Week 16, one for the ages, a record setting day against the Baltimore Ravens. Burrow posted career highs in the most passing yardage, 525 yards (fourth highest of all time) in a single game, with four touchdowns and no interceptions. Completing 80 percent of his passes placed Burrow at the 143.2 passer rating, powering the Bengals past the Ravens with a 41-21 victory. It was the Bengals best season since 2015, and put them in first place of the AFC North. Joe Burrow's remarkable performance in Week 16 earned him high praise and he was named the AFC Offensive Player of the Week.

Other finalists for the month of December in order of how the NSMA ranked them included: Cooper Kupp (football), Kevin Durant (basketball), Trae Young (basketball) and Jonathan Taylor (football) (tie), Max Pacioretty (hockey), DeMar DeRozan (basketball), Thatcher Demko (hockey), Max Verstappen (auto racing) and Connor McDavid (hockey) (tie).

His selection as the Hickok Belt(R) Award winner for the month of December 2021 recognizes Joe Burrow as the "best of the best" in professional sports for the month and makes him the twelfth candidate to receive the Hickok Belt(R) Award in 2021, joining Jorge Soler, Eddie Rosario, Emma Raducanu, Athing Mu, Caleb Dressel, Shohei Ohtani, Phil Mickelson, Hideki Matsuyama, Luke Doncic, Naomi Osaka and Patrick Mahomes. Winners as selected by the NSMA are announced each month. The "overall" yearly winner of the Hickok Belt(R) Award for 2021 will be announced in the coming weeks.

The Hickok Belt(R) Award was originally presented annually from 1950-1976. Past recipients include a list of the 20th century's elite athletes including the likes of Muhammad Ali, Arnold Palmer, Mickey Mantle, Willie Mays, Jim Brown and others who defined their sports. To learn more about the rich history of the Hickok Belt(R) Award and keep up with all the news surrounding the award in 2022, please visit

News Media: For more information, contact Tony Liccione at 585-964-3077 or

Tony Liccione, Representative, Liccione Enterprises
Email:*** Email Verified
Location:Rochester - New York - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
Liccione Enterprises, Inc. News
Most Viewed
Daily News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share