IEDC Announces 2021 Award Winners in Economic Development

WASHINGTON - Oct. 12, 2021 - PRLog -- The International Economic Development Council (IEDC), the largest nonprofit professional association for professional economic developers in the world, has announced the recipients of its 2021 Awards. This includes winners in the Best in Show, Public-Private Partnership, Equity in Economic Development, and Economic Development Office of the Year categories, among others. Recipients were recognized during IEDC's 2021 Annual Conference this October 3-6. A complete list of award recipients can be found here.

"From localized community projects to large-scale endeavors, economic development efforts have played a vital role in the global economy. As we address new and longstanding challenges, these efforts continue to take on even greater importance. The awards serve as a salute to pacesetting organizations like these for leading the charge," said 2021 IEDC Board Chair and President and CEO of Invest Buffalo Niagara, Tom Kucharski.

"The local communities need our profession now more than in other years. This year's awardees exemplify ingenuity and leadership that will help communities build back now and in the future more resilient than before," added IEDC Awards Advisory Committee Chair Jane Jenkins.

Awards are judged by a diverse panel of economic and community developers from around the world, following a nomination process held earlier this year.

Award winners include:

Best in Show
  • Beaufort County Economic Development Corporation - Lowcountry Fresh Market and Cafe (Beaufort, SC)

Public-Private Partnerships. Gold Award recipients include:
  • Giddings Economic Development Corporation - Depot Complex (Giddings, TX)
  • Michigan Economic Development Corporation - BLOCK600 (Lansing, MI)
  • City of Dublin - City of Dublin Economic Development: Bridge Park (Dublin, OH)
  • The City of Norfolk Department of Economic Development - Norfolk Innovation Corridor (Norfolk, VA)
  • Greater Cleveland Partnership and Harbor Bay Real Estate Advisors - INTRO Cleveland (Cleveland, OH)

Economic Equity & Inclusion. Gold Award recipients include:
  • Beaufort County Economic Development Corporation - Lowcountry Fresh Market and Cafe (Beaufort, SC)
  • Lansing Economic Area Partnership (LEAP) - One and All: Inclusive Entrepreneurship for the Lansing, MI Region (Lansing, MI)
  • City of Mesa Office of Economic Development - Mesa CARES HUUB Digital Platform (Mesa, AZ)

Economic Development Office of the Year. Gold Award recipients include:
  • City of Dublin Division of Economic Development (Dublin, OH)
  • Loudoun County Department of Economic Development (Ashburn, VA)
  • Greater Phoenix Economic Council (Phoenix, AZ)

IEDC congratulates these recipients as well as the winners of the Leadership & Honorary Awards and Excellence Awards. The complete list of recipients can be found here. To learn more about IEDC's awards ceremonies, conferences, and more, visit

International Economic Development Council

Like PRLog?
Click to Share