Moemaw Naedon & C.Scott - River Rats (Album)

Pittsburgh-Based Emcee/Producer Duo Seek Mother Nature for Creative Inspiration
By: Soul Slime Records
Moemaw Naedon & C. Scott - River Rats
Moemaw Naedon & C. Scott - River Rats
PITTSBURGH - Aug. 28, 2021 - PRLog -- Moemaw Naedon & C.Scott's new collaborative album, River Rats, is a wavy blend of genres—hip-hop, psychedelia, and just a hint of prog-rock—that perfectly captures the tension, confusion, and complexity of 2020. It's also a personal project for the two Pittsburgh-based artists, who created a majority of the album during the COVID-19 lockdown. The result is a record that's immediately relatable and engaging, but also thoughtful and incredibly creative.

The world of River Rats is one steeped in Naedon and Scott's shared love for sampling and crate-digging. Their dusty fingerprints are all over this album, particularly Scott's as he produced the entire project. But as he explained, the two would share sample sources and records while crafting these tracks, including the Prince Paul-esque interludes as well as standouts like "Off The Path" (feat. El Da Sensei) and "Summer In The Muck" (feat. B.Rude).

Those cuts also exemplify the humidity-soaked, naturalistic feeling of River Rats, which is fitting because Naedon and Scott worked on parts of the album while hanging out on the shores of the Allegheny River. "Since we couldn't really hang out indoors with people that often, we chilled at the shores of the rivers in Pittsburgh drinking, smoking, building fires, playing beats out of Bluetooth speakers and just talking about what we were going through," Neadon says. "Thus, the title 'River Rats' was born."

River Rats
is available now through all digital retailers and streaming platforms via Soul Slime Records with limited copies available on cassette through the label's Bandcamp page. The cassette includes two bonus tracks, "Frog Work (instrumental)" and "P.K.E. (C.Scott Remix)."

01. The Pittsburgh Thrill (Intro)
02. Awesome Environment
03. Space Log
04. Midnight Rapper (Interlude)
05. Owls in the Sun (feat. JM the Poet)
06. Summer in the Muck (feat. Dinosaur Burps)
07. Where You Wander (Interlude)
08. Frog Work (Instrumental)
09. Scene Before
10. Hardly New Havoc
11. Off the Path (feat. E Da Sensei)
12. Death Shot (feat. Brother Seamus)
13. Weird Places Heavy Stories (Interlude)
14. Ringing Bells
15. Paragon of Angels
16. P.K.E. (C.Scott Remix)
*Tracks 08 and 16 are available via cassette-only

Smart URL:
Source:Soul Slime Records
Email:*** Email Verified
Location:Pittsburgh - Pennsylvania - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
Page Updated Last on: Sep 02, 2021
Diamond Media 360 PRs
Trending News
Most Viewed
Top Daily News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share