IEDC Honors Economic Development Professionals for Excellence in the Profession

Award winners will be honored October 3-6th during the IEDC 2021 Annual Conference.
WASHINGTON - Sept. 21, 2021 - PRLog -- The International Economic Development Council (IEDC), the largest nonprofit professional association for professional economic developers in the world, has recognized fourteen leaders in the field with the 2021 Leadership and Honorary Awards for achieving excellence in the profession. Recipients will be awarded at a ceremony during IEDC's 2021 Annual Conference this October in recognition of their work in their communities. IEDC's Honorary and Leadership Awards recognize the outstanding community and economic development leaders and their impact.

"Every year we celebrate awardees and the efforts placed in their communities for their impact. This year's awards are recognized through the global events of COVID-19 when our work is needed most," shared IEDC President and CEO Jeff Finkle.

"The local communities need our profession now more than in other years. This year's awardees exemplify ingenuity and leadership that will help communities build back now and in the future more resilient than before," added IEDC Awards Advisory Committee Chair Jane Jenkins.

Awards are judged by a diverse panel of economic and community developers from around the world, following a nomination process held earlier this year. IEDC received over 500 submissions from four countries.

Leadership Award winners include:

Young Economic Development Professional of the Year Award
  • JD Beatty - President & CEO, City of Mesa - Office of Economic Development (Mesa, AZ)
Jeffrey A. Finkle Organizational Leadership Award
  • David P. Rumbarger, Jr., CEcD FM - Community Development Foundation (Tupelo, MS)
  • Amy J. Clickner, CEcD, CFRM - Retired CEO, Lake Superior Community Partnership (Marquette, MI)
Institutional Leadership Award
  • Dr. Cynthia Rooney - Chancellor, University of New Mexico - Los Alamos (Los Alamos, NM)
Citizen Leadership Award
  • Doug Taylor - Managing Partner, Church Street Entertainment (Orlando, FL)
  • Rich Adams - President & CEO, Southwest Business Credit Services (Phoenix, AZ)
Leadership Award for Public Service
  • Chuck Hoskin Jr. - Principal Chief, Cherokee Nation (Tahlequah, OK)
  • Anthony Brancatelli - Councilman, Cleveland City Council - Ward 12 (Cleveland, OH)
Chairman's Award for Lifetime Achievement in Economic Development
  • Dr. David Kolzow - President, Team Kolzow, Inc. (Franklin, TN)
Lifetime Achievement Award for Excellence in Economic Development
  • Dr. Maury Forman, HLM (Seattle, WA)
Fellow Members (FM)
  • Amy J. Clickner, CEcD, CFRM - Retired CEO, Lake Superior Community Partnership (Marquette, MI)
  • Clarence L. Hulse - Executive Director, EDC Michigan City (Michigan City, IN)
  • Mike S. Neal, CCE, CCD - President & CEO, Tulsa Regional Chamber (Tulsa, OK)
Honorary Life Member (HLM)
  • Derieth L. Sutton, CEcD, EDFP - Vice President, Economic Development & Governmental Relations, Niagara Bottling, LLC (Groveland, FL)
Award winners will be recognized at the organization's 2021 Annual Conference held in Nashville, TN October 3-6. Interested parties can register at

International Economic Development Council
Email:*** Email Verified
Tags:Economic Development, Economics, Technology, Innovation, Professional Development
Industry:Non-profit, Business
Location:Washington - District of Columbia - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse

Like PRLog?
Click to Share