Indian Railways Train Ticket Booking Sees 230% Jump As States Relax Lockdown Restrictions

Indian Railways has decided to run 150+ more special trains from June 15 to June 18.
PATNA, India - June 12, 2021 - PRLog -- The Indian Railways (IRCTC) witnessed about 230 % jump in online ticket booking as Indian mostly states have relaxed lockdown restrictions (unlock), according to a report of Authorized IRCTC E-Catering Partner RailRecipe. "According to sources, on May 15, 2021 the total train ticket booking of reserved train travellers was 6.3 lakh, which increased to 17.6 lakh on Thursday (June 10)," RailRecipe reported today.

Meanwhile, in a press conference, Indian Railway Board Chairman and CEO Suneet Sharma said that the increase in demand is expected to remain for the next two to three months. "Depending on the position of the waiting list, we have been trying to meet the demand by operating clone trains. There are 26 clone trains operating right now. We also getting indications that we should anticipate more travellers demand," the Indian Railway Board Chairman and CEO Suneet Sharma said.

Indian Railway Board Chairman and CEO also said that the national transporter is increasing the number of trains as the lockdowns are being eased across the India country. According to Railway Ministry, the national transporter is operating 889 Special Mail Express trains, 479 passenger trains and 26 clone trains of highly-patronised trains. The ministry also said the railways is operating 2,891 suburban services. Moving forward, Indian Railways has decided to run 150+ more special trains from June 15 to June 18. People who are stranded across the India could expect a big relief with this Indian Railways Update. The Indian Railways has allowed resumption of train services from June 15 in a graded manner and 150+ passenger trains will resume services.

Here is the list of trains which will be started by Indian Railways from June 15 to June 18:

Gorakhpur-Panvel summer special train (05063)
Bikaner Jn-Sealdah Duronto special train (02288)
Kanpur Central-New Delhi special train (02033)
Gwalior-Bhopal special train (04198)
Lucknow Jn-Agra Fort special train (02179)
Agra Fort-Ajmer Jn special train (04195)
Jhansi-Agra Cantt special train (01807)
Idgah-Bandikui special train (01911)
Prayagraj-Anand Vihar special train (04127)
Ajmer-Sealdah SF special train (02988)
Magadh Express special train (02872)

RAC and Waiting list train ticket will be generated as per extant rules; however, waiting list ticket holders shall not be permitted to board the train. No unreserved tickets will be issued and no tickets will be issued onboard to any passenger during the journey, the Ministry of Railways noted.

Kahkashan Faridi
Source: » Follow
Email:*** Email Verified
Tags:Indian railways news
Location:Patna - Bihar - India
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
RailRecipe PRs
Trending News
Most Viewed
Top Daily News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share