IPL to become 10-team contest from 2022, BCCI decides in AGM

BCCI approved a 10-team IPL from 2022 and backed ICC's bid for inclusion of T20 cricket in 2028 Los Angeles Olympics.
AHMEDABAD, India - Dec. 24, 2020 - PRLog -- The Board of Control for Cricket in India's (BCCI) general body on Thursday approved a 10-team IPL from the 2022 edition at its annual general meeting in Ahmedabad. The IPL is currently contested between eight teams.

In another major development, the Board, in principle, decided to back the ICC's bid for inclusion of cricket, in the T20 format, in the 2028 Los Angeles Olympics "after getting some clarifications from the International Olympic Committee".

Also, it was decided that all first-class players, both men, and women, will be suitably compensated for the curtailed domestic season due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

The BCCI plans to get the domestic season underway, after several months' delay, in January with the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 championship.

In other decisions, veteran Congress leader Rajiv Shukla has officially anointed the Board's vice president in place of his protege Mahim Verma from Uttarakhand.

It was also learnt that the general body decided in favour of Sourav Ganguly continuing as a director in the ICC Board.

Secretary Jay Shah will be the alternate director as well as India's representative at the Chief Executive Committee meets of the global body.

Read more Sports Story: http://bit.ly/3pkg7s9

Media Contact
Sports Lounge
Email:***@sportslounge.co.in Email Verified
Tags:IPL 2022
Location:Ahmedabad - Gujarat - India
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
Sports Lounge News
Most Viewed
Daily News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share