Toastmasters District 86 2019-2020 "Of the Year" Award Winners Announced

Twenty Toastmasters Recognized for Exceptional Communication and Leadership Qualities
By: Toastmasters District 86
BRAMPTON, Ontario - Nov. 13, 2020 - PRLog -- District 86 held its first-ever virtual "Of the Year" award ceremony on Saturday, October 17. Outstanding members of the district were honored by Immediate Past District Director Jacklyn A. Payne (DTM) alongside other Toastmaster District leaders and International dignitaries.

The top award, Toastmaster of the Year Award was presented posthumously to Brampton Toastmaster Cindy Tate, DTM. who excelled in her stellar leadership and communication; serving the district as the 2019 - 2020 and 2020 - 2021 Administration Manager.

Ricard E Peck (DTM), International President of Toastmasters International offered his condolences to the District and Tate's family. "Cindy was dedicated to helping the members of District 86 achieve more than they thought possible:" he said. "Her passing will be a loss to her family, to District 86, and to Toastmasters." Cindy's family and devoted fiancé accepted the award on her behalf.

The Spirit of District 86 Award went to Lisa des Vignes, Ryan Roach, Anne Dockeray, Leslie Fitzgerald, Karen Reese, and Nikolina Ivankovic for their continued enthusiasm.

Continuing his service to the District and Toastmasters, Michael Proudlock (DTM) was awarded the Douglas Barclay Award as a Past District Officer who exemplifies Toastmasters' values of integrity, respect, service & excellence in promoting Toastmasters to the outside community.

Brahm Memone, DTM captured the Club Coach of the Year Award, for his effervescent effort, taking MI Speak Toastmasters from 2 members in February to 39 members and Distinguished Club status. Serving the district and his club Somnath Bhattacharjee, accepted Publicist of the Year.

The Peter Crabtree President of the Year Award went to Patricia Williams, and the Tony Bratschitsch Club of the Year Award went to Region of Peel Toastmasters. Howard Bisharsky accepted Area Director of the Year Award for his exceptional leadership in leading his clubs, while Division Director of the Year went to Millie Leng, DTM.

Other winners included; Confidently Speaking Toastmasters for Education Leadership, Anna Silgardo, winning the Communication & Leadership Award and Glen Abby Toastmasters for Membership Leadership. The Members for Making a Difference Awards went to Nancy Movrin, Ethel de la Penotiere, Richard Lewis, and Melanie Taddeo.

About Toastmasters District 86

Toastmasters District 86 represents the heartland of Ontario, outside of Toronto and Eastern Ontario (Kingston and Ottawa). It is comprised of 212-plus community and corporate clubs, with more than 4,400 members. To learn more about District 86, please visit

Lisa des Vignes
Public Relations Manager, Toastmasters District 86
Email:*** Email Verified
Location:Brampton - Ontario - Canada
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse

Like PRLog?
Click to Share