Deca - Snakes and Birds (Album)

The NYC-Based DIY Emcee, Producer and Visual Artist Returns With His Latest Masterpiece
By: Beualah Records
NEW YORK - Oct. 14, 2020 - PRLog -- Snakes and Birds marks an incredible artistic achievement for Deca, the New York-based emcee, producer, and visual artist who continues to push the boundaries of his own creativity. Conceptually, this album couldn't feel more relevant as it guides the listener through paranoia, inner turmoil, and varying emotions associated with our world mid-pandemic. But there's also hints of hope for something better, even if we need to get through a lot more uncertainty before we can push through.

You can get a strong sense of Deca's own internal struggles and realizations on the lead single, "Clay Pigeons," which happens to be his favorite track off the LP. In addition to the driving, hypnotic production, the song's chorus features some of his best writing to date: "Life's a package deal, you take the beautiful days with dark nights and dance with Maya in the starlight it's alright / We wax and we wane, there's wild flowers growing from the cracks in my brain."

That level of vivid imagery can be heard throughout Snakes and Birds, and it perfectly complements his finely crafted instrumentals. Just listen to how he uses vocal samples as adlibs on the title track, and how he blends the ethereal soundscape on "High Wire" featuring Ciggy. Other immediate standouts include the equally eccentric and aspirational "All In A Dream" as well as "Home Base," which features Eligh (of Living Legends), who Deca has admired for decades.

At the core of all this brilliant work, however, is someone who just loves to push himself to create the best possible work that he can. "I want to just continue to grow as an artist and reach as wide of an audience as possible without sacrificing anything to do that," Deca says. It's not often you get to witness that level of integrity and overwhelming talent, but that's exactly what makes this Deca such a fascinating artist.

Snakes and Birds has arrived through all digital retailers and streaming platforms through Deca's own, Beulah Records label. The 12 track LP is available now for pre-order via Bandcamp with vinyl copies set to ship out by Jan. 01.

01. Morning (Intro)
02. False Light
03. Clay Pigeons
04. All in a Dream
05. Midnight Cry (Interlude)
06. High Wire (feat. Ciggy)
07. Elegy (Interlude)
08. Home Base (feat. Eligh)
09. Curiosity Shop
10. Bedrock
11. Waystation (feat. DJ Stan Solo) (Interlude)
12. Snakes and Birds

Smart URL:
Source:Beualah Records
Email:*** Email Verified
Location:New York City - New York - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
Page Updated Last on: Oct 23, 2020

Like PRLog?
Click to Share