The American Association Of Zoo Keepers Announces 2020 Award Winners

Due to the uncertainty that surrounds the Pandemic the AAZK held their annual Awards Ceremony virtually and has rescheduled the National Conference to 2021.
By: American Association of Zoo Keepers, Inc.
Spread the Word
Listed Under



Tucson - Arizona - US


TUCSON, Ariz. - Sept. 19, 2020 - PRLog -- Lifetime Achievement AAZK Professional Service Award
Norah Farnham, Woodland Park Zoo

Lifetime Achievement AAZK Meritorious Service Award
Ian Craig, Lewa Wildlife Conservancy
Dr. Susie Ellis, Former Executive Director – International Rhino Foundation

Lutz Ruhe Professional of the Year Award
Hilary Colton, Smithsonian's National Zoo & Conservation Biology Institute
Jean M. Hromadka Excellence in Animal Care Award
Carolyn Sellar, Woodland Park Zoo

Excellence in Animal Nutrition Award
1st place: Erica Royer, Smithsonian's Conservation Biology Institute
Runner-up: Annabritt Coakley, Safari West

Excellence in Exhibit Renovation Award
Dell Guglielmo and Katy Juliano, Smithsonian's National Zoo and Conservation Biology Institute

Janet McCoy Excellence in Public Education Award
1st place: National Capital AAZK Chapter, Smithsonian's National Zoological Park and Conservation Biology Institute
Runner-up: Jordan Veasley, Cougar Mountain Zoo

Lee Houts Advancement in Environmental Enrichment Award
1st place: NZP Bird Team: Sara Hallager, Lori Smith, Kathy Brader, Jen Ferraro and Stacy Hill, Smithsonian's National Zoo & Conservation Biology Institute
Runner-up: Jen Bates, Safari West

Nico van Strien Leadership in Conservation Award
Mandy Fahy, The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore

Certificate of Recognition
Robin Sutker, The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore, for serving as Chair of the AAZK Resource Committee
Kym Janke, San Diego Zoo, for serving as the BFR Program Manager
Neil Miller, Fort Wayne Children's Zoo, for serving as Vice Chair on the AAZK Communications Committee
Megan Wright-Walker, for serving as Chair of the AAZK Animal Welfare Committee
Carrie Ellis, Cheyenne Mountain Zoo, for serving as the Vice Chair of the AAZK Conservation Committee
James Weinpress, Seneca Park Zoo, for serving as the Chair of the AAZK Communications Committee

Barbara Manspeaker Chapter of the Year Award
Cape May County Zoo AAZK Chapter, Cape May County Park & Zoo

Susan D. Chan Author of the Year
Saving Lissa:  How training aided in the cancer treatment of a southern white rhinoceros
Kimberlee Wuenstel, David Backus, and Daniel Soler, Lion Country Safari

Excellence in Journalism Awards
Chiropractor Visits a Neonate Tiger.
Dawn Strasser, Cincinnati Zoo and Botanical Garden

Zoo Visitor Perceptions Regarding the Conservation Status of Cotton-top Tamarins and their Appropriateness as Pets
Kara DeLanty, Milwaukee County Zoo

Gender Labeling and Behavior:  "This animal doesn't like men"
John Scott, Central Park Zoo

Changes in Flamingo Foot Condition Following Substrate Changes in Holding Areas
Joy Kotheimer, Columbus Zoo and Aquarium
Ian M. Hamilton, The Ohio State University

Increasing Exhibit Value Through Zookeeper Presence
Brett Bartek, Oklahoma City Zoo

Photographer of the Year
Red Panda. Jill Dignan, Lincoln Park Zoo

Excellence in Photography
Snow Leopard. Allycia Darst, Lincoln Park Zoo

American Association of Zoo Keepers, Inc
James Winepress
Posted By:*** Email Verified
Location:Tucson - Arizona - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
American Association of Zoo Keepers PRs
Trending News
Most Viewed
Top Daily News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share