National Lacrosse League Completes 2020 Entry Draft

Virtual Event Sees Cornell's Teat Selected First By The Riptide, Drexel defenseman Reid Bowering Second To The Warriors As Teams Prepare For League's 35th Season
PHILADELPHIA - Sept. 17, 2020 - PRLog -- Players, coaches and general managers from the National Lacrosse League's (NLL) 13 franchises assembled virtually tonight across North America. Unlike years past, they may not have been in the same room, but that didn't stop the NLL Entry Draft from being the moment of a lifetime for over 90 players selected. With "war rooms" and Zoom Watch Parties connected to take part in a world-class Draft Selection Show simultaneously streamed on B/R Live, @NLL Facebook and YouTube, the New York Riptide made their second consecutive first overall selection, taking Cornell forward Jeff Teat (Brampton, ON) to kick off the 93 selections over six rounds.

Vancouver, which had originally been slotted at No. 3, moved up one spot to No. 2, trading with Rochester to make sure to get their man, Drexel defenseman Reid Bowering (Coquitlam, B.C.). Then Rochester, like New York having just completed its first NLL season as an expansion franchise, grabbed Robert Morris forward Ryan Smith (Burlington, ON) third. Rounding out the top five picks, San Diego snagged Ohio State forward Tre Leclaire (Surrey, B.C.), and Calgary chose forward Tanner Cook (Courtice, ON) of North Carolina.

"We may not have been together as we have been at Xfinity Live in Philadelphia the past couple of years and other cities and locations before that, but it was another memorable Entry Draft with some great young talent moving to the next level," said NLL Commissioner Nick Sakiewicz. "We are proud of the way NLL teams, players, and staff adjusted and produced such a top tier event that captured the excitement of the first major step towards the league's 35th season."

The first round continued with 16 total selections, as Georgia made the first of its four initial round picks at No. 6, grabbing University of Vermont transition Robert Hudson (Oakville, ON), then taking Ohio State defenseman Jeff Henrick (Orangeville, ON) at No. 8, Ethan Walker (Peterborough, ON) at No. 10 and Laine Hruska (Warman, SK.) at No. 13. Other first-rounders included forward Marshall Powless (Six Nations) at No. 7 and Connor McClelland (Brampton, ON) at No. 12 by Saskatchewan; Brad McCulley (Victoria, B.C.) at No. 9 by Buffalo; Ethan Riggs (Hamilton, ON) at No. 11 by Halifax;  Harrison Matsuoka (Calgary, AB) at No. 11 by Calgary; Mac O'Keefe (Syosset, N.Y.) at No. 15 by San Diego; and Jackson Suboch (Toronto) at No. 16 completing the round by Philadelphia.

The full list of selections is updated at

Media Contact
Jerry Milani
Email:*** Email Verified
Location:Philadelphia - Pennsylvania - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
National Lacrosse League News
Most Viewed
Daily News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share