Dog Writers Association of America Launches 2020 Writing Competition

The time-honored tradition continues with 71 awards and over $11,000 in cash prizes
1 2 3 4 5
DWAA Welcomes New and Established Dog Writers
DWAA Welcomes New and Established Dog Writers
NEW YORK - July 21, 2020 - PRLog -- It's the most wonderful time of the dog writing year! The Dog Writers Association of America 2020 Writing Competition is now accepting entries.

Founded in 1935, the Dog Writers Association of America recently launched its annual writing competition. The competition is open to all writers, editors, publishers, photographers, bloggers, artists and others whose work falls into the designated competition categories. Entrants compete in a variety of categories for the coveted Maxwell Medallions, named for dog writing legend Maxwell Riddle.

In addition to the regular categories, participants are encouraged to compete for over $11,000 in special awards and cash prizes. The deadline to submit entries is September 6, 2020.

"Now more than ever, dogs and the people who write and create content about them are incredibly important and helping us maneuver the 'new normal,'" said DWAA President Carol Bryant. "The annual writing competition will not be affected by the pandemic."

This year's special awards lineup includes:

-       AKC Club Publication Excellence Award - $500

-       AKC Reunite Microchip Awareness Award - $1,000

-       AKC Responsible Dog Ownership Public Service Award - $500

-       The AKC Family Dog Award - $500

-       The Canine Scribbles Award - $350

-       The Captain William Judy Award - $350

-       Dogster Health & Wellness Award - $500

-       DOGTV Canine Enrichment Award - $500

-       Fidose of Reality Dog Blogger Award - $300

-       Dr. Harvey's Canine Health Award - $500

-       DWAA Junior Writer Award – Amount TBD

-       Fear Free Dog Enrichment Award - $2,000

-       The Grey Muzzle Award - $500

-       The Harrison Stephens Inspirational Feature Award - $300

-       James Colasanti, Jr. Poetry Award - $200

-       The Manette Begin-Loudon Memorial Award - $300

-       The PSI Professional Pet Care Award - $300

-       The Rio Award - $300

-       The Sleepypod Pet Safety Award - $500

-       The Walter R. Fletcher Memorial Award - $500

-       Dogwise Best Book Award - $500

-       DWAA Distinguished Service Award - $1,000

Finalists will be announced in early December on social media. On Sunday, February 14, 2021, DWAA will host an online virtual event to announce the winners.

For more information, to enter the competition, and join DWAA, visit:

About DWAA

The Dog Writers Association of America is the most recognized professional writing association devoted to dogs. Founded in 1935, the DWAA has grown from eight founders to over 500 members, including journalists, authors, bloggers, publicists, photographers, illustrators and media personalities. For more information, visit:

Email:*** Email Verified
Tags:Writing, Dogs, Dog Writers, Dog Bloggers, Photography, Writer, Writing Competition, Dog, Authors, Publishers
Location:New York City - New York - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse

Like PRLog?
Click to Share