How Weight Stigma Benefits Social Policy Makers

NAAFA Webinar Series 2020 continues with Dr. Nancy Ellis-Ordway, a practicing psychotherapist who unravels how social policy makers benefit from perpetuating weight stigma which leads to further discrimination against people of large body size.
By: NAAFA
 
 
Spread the Word
Listed Under

Tag:
* Fat Rights

Industry:
* Non-profit

Location:
* Las Vegas - Nevada - US

LAS VEGAS - July 10, 2020 - PRLog -- NAAFA's Board of Directors is excited about the latest in our NAAFA Webinar Series 2020. "How Weight Stigma Benefits Social Policy Makers" will be presented by Nancy Ellis-Ordway, LCSW, PhD, on Saturday, 7/18/20 at 11am PDT/ 12pm MDT/ 1pm CDT/ 2pm EDT.

Dr. Ellis-Ordway is a psychotherapist with more than thirty years' experience, specializing in treating eating disorders, body image issues, stress, anxiety, depression and relationship issues. She has a private practice in Jefferson City, MO. She is the author of "Thrive at Any Weight: Eating to Nourish Body, Soul, and Self- Esteem"* (2019).

Weight stigma negatively affects quality of life for all people but it also influences social policy. Social determinants have a stronger influence on public and personal health than behavior does but interventions continue to focus on changing individual body size. This focus effectively distracts from the need for interventions that target social disparities such as poverty, pollution, racism and oppression, an approach that is much messier, more expensive and complicated. How do we change the conversation with policy makers?

Join us as Dr. Ellis-Ordway examines how weight stigma provides an effective distraction for policy makers who want to avoid the more complicated and nuanced discussions about who is responsible for the health of the larger community and all of its residents, and how that responsibility should be met. Register at: https://tinyurl.com/y7bmyh7v

Founded in 1969, NAAFA is a non-profit fat rights organization dedicated to improving the quality of life for fat people. NAAFA works to eliminate discrimination based on body size and provide fat people with the tools for self-empowerment through public education, advocacy, and member support.

On the web: http://www.naafa.org

Contact
Peggy Howell
pr@naafa.org
19165586880
End
Email:***@naafa.org Email Verified
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
NAAFA.org News
Trending
Most Viewed
Daily News



Like PRLog?
9K2K1K
Click to Share