James R. Glover's "The Picolata Road" is a Recreation of Action-Packed Civil War Era Florida

James R. Glover's The Picolata Road, a historical novel perfect for fans of Westerns, will be released December 13.
 
 
Spread the Word
Listed Under

Tag:
New Release

Industry:
Books

Location:
Florida - US

Dec. 3, 2019 - PRLog -- This is the story of Jessie Youngblood, a former Texas Ranger who settles near St. Augustine shortly before the Civil War. Orphaned by the Comanches as a young child and raised on the Texas frontier by his aunt and uncle, he leaves Texas in search of a new home. After arriving in St. Augustine, Jessie uses his inheritance to buy a small farm near the old city. While he learns about this new frontier, he develops a friendship with the determined and beautiful neighbor, Isabel Cox. At the outbreak of the Civil War, Jessie finds himself swept into the savagery that he thought he left behind in Texas. He soon discovers that violence and brutality are not unique to the Comancheria.

To find a group of ruthless murderers, he reverts to the man the Comanches called Yellow Snake and wages his own war within a war. He tirelessly hunts Lucas Jackson while surviving the battle of Olustee. Only his gregarious friend and partner, Silas Ward, keeps Jessie from becoming the self-destructive killer he could be. Meanwhile, Isabel struggles as her world collapses. Raised as an independent, privileged woman, Isabel loses everything except her faith and a love for her ancestral home.

Glover paves his way into the "Cracker Western" genre by taking readers on a journey that is chock-full of action, unlikely heroes, and authentic historical details. A story that transplants the traditional western character into a Florida setting, The Picolata Road will captivate Civil War buffs and readers of historical fiction and western novels alike. Mature themes of revenge, love, friendship and growth also come into play as Glover takes his readers on the adventure of a lifetime.

James Glover is an outdoor enthusiast, history buff, and Florida native. His early years in St. Augustine, the nation's oldest city, kindled an early interest in Florida history and the people who tamed the last eastern frontier. After a career in business, he is now writing about his home state and its long, colorful past. James lives with his wife in Mandarin, FL. For additional information, contact media@touchpointpress.com. Bulk orders: info@touchpointpress.com

Contact
Ashley Carlson, Media Liaison for TouchPoint Press
***@touchpointpress.com
End
Email:***@touchpointpress.com Email Verified
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse



Like PRLog?
9K2K1K
Click to Share