New Book Published About Disrupting the SAMR Education Technology Model

Education Technology author and consultant publishes new book on Tier 4 curriculum (T4c) as a new standard for wide-scale development of K12 curriculum.
By: Darryl Vidal
Spread the Word
Listed Under

SAMR Education



Nov. 12, 2019 - PRLog -- The SAMR model is an educational taxonomy that describes a method for incrementally improving K-12 curriculum using technology. The goal of the SAMR model is to help schools improve student learning by taking advantage of capabilities of technology in the classroom, such as WIFI, special software and student devices such as tables and laptop computers. Devised by Dr. Ruben Puentadura, the model stands for Substitution, Augmentation, Modification and Redefinition as a process for increasing technology integration into curriculum.

In his sixth education technology book, "From Dysfunction to Innovation in Technology:Overcoming Critical Infrastructure and Organizational Dynamics in Education" Darryl Vidal details how schools and districts can skip over the lower levels of the SAMR model and start large-scale development of technology-enabled curriculum at the top layer of the SAMR model (Redefinition) – a process Vidal has designated Tier 4 Curriculum – or T4c.

By disrupting the model defined by SAMR, Dysfunction defines the process, staffing and standards a school or district needs to be able to develop T4c on a district-wide scale. Vidal states, "Many teachers and administrators are familiar with the SAMR model but have no means or methods to aid their teachers in implementing the model. Teachers are left to their own devices to achieve the potential capabilities of educational technology systems. This limited process rarely achieves the goal of providing new curriculum that maximizes technologies such as learning management systems, content development, and collaboration tools to a whole school district. The curriculum development methodology described in Dysfunction provides a framework for integrating technology into the curriculum called the 6-C development process: Curriculum, (Common) Core, Cognition, Content, Critical Thinking and Collaboration.

Dysfunction details a plan for not only developing T4c using the 6-C methodology, but also defines the resources, skillsets, and professional development required to develop, implement and continuously improve on the curriculum developed through this process.

Darryl Vidal
24644 Lincoln Ave.

Read more:
Tags:SAMR Education
Location:United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
? PRs
Trending News
Most Viewed
Top Daily News

Like PRLog?
Click to Share