Team Mini Mania Claims Three Podium Spots at 60th Anniversary Mini Race

Five-Car Team finishes first, second and third in class at Portland International Raceway while guest driver Randy Unsbee wins "Hard Charger" Award for passing the most cars
Randy Unsbee, Hard Charger from last to third in class. - Cindi Racine photo.
Randy Unsbee, Hard Charger from last to third in class. - Cindi Racine photo.
PORTLAND, Ore. - Sept. 12, 2019 - PRLog -- Dennis Racine of Grass Valley, CA took first place in class and second overall on Sunday at Portland International Raceway in the 60th Anniversary Mini Race. Twenty-four Minis from Canada and the USA converged on the 1.964 Oregon road racing circuit to celebrate the 60th anniversary of one of the most popular cars, with over 10 million produced.

Dennis Racine's M3 class win was the best Team Mini Mania showing in the Feature Race which saw four classes of Classic Minis compete. Second in M3 was Dennis' father, Don Racine of Grass Valley and third was Rod Davis, Wildomar, CA.

Team Mini Mania guest driver Randy Unsbee of Gresham, OR took third in the M2 class after starting last due to a DNF in a prior race when the shift linkage broke. The team accomplished an engine change in under two hours. Unsbee earned the Hard Charger award for passing nine cars and finishing eighth overall and third in the M2 class for the final team podium.

Winning the M2 class was Gregg Wold of Osseo, MN who was also third overall, followed in second by Scott Crawford of Bend, OR who was seventh overall.

Team Mini Mania's Julie Racine in the M1 class and her husband John Burmann from Livermore, CA in the M2 group did not start the feature race. However, in earlier weekend race events they both scored sixth place finishes in their respective class. There were two preliminary Mini races in preparation for the feature event.

Geoff Tupholme of Pritchard, BC was first overall and first in the M4 class, followed in second by Steve Phillips of Clovis, CA and fourth overall, and Trevor Sandham in third and 17th overall from Vancouver, BC.

The M1 class was won by James Stiehr of Evergreen, CO in fifth overall, followed in second by Bruce Houlden from Saskatoon, SK and sixth overall, and Mike Kimball of Sacramento, Ca. in third and ninth overall.

The 60th Anniversary Mini Race was held as a feature event as part of the Columbia River Classic vintage races, sanctioned by SOVREN. Also on tap for the weekend was the 43rd annual All British Field Meet which featured over 700 British cars of all makes and models.

Email:*** Email Verified
Tags:60th Anniversary Mini Race, Mini Mania, Randy Unsbee
Location:Portland - Oregon - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse
Page Updated Last on: Sep 12, 2019

Like PRLog?
Click to Share