Colorado Authors Hall of Fame Launches

22 Authors, Past and Present, to be Inducted September 14th in Denver, Colorado
Mara Purl, Author & Board Member
Mara Purl, Author & Board Member
COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Aug. 24, 2019 - PRLog -- When Colorado Springs and Los Angeles author Mara Purl first began writing novels, she counted herself extremely fortunate to have Louis L'Amour as a mentor. Now, best-selling author Purl is thrilled to participate in inducting Mr. L'Amour into the new Hall of Fame.

Twenty-two authors who have written books in or about Colorado will be the first inductees into the Colorado Authors' Hall of Fame on Saturday, September 14.

The Induction ceremony will be held from 5 to 8 p.m. at the Marriott Courtyard Cherry Creek, 1475 South Colorado Blvd., Denver. Tickets are $115 each, including dinner, and available at

Founder Dr. Judith Briles of Aurora, Colorado, a best-selling author of more than 20 books, said she and her founding board members created the Hall of Fame to honor and promote the works of outstanding published authors who have a vibrant connection to Colorado to ensure their legacies won't be lost.

"Rarely can we do something to repay our important mentors," said founding board member Mara Purl. "Louis made a huge difference in my writing life, and I was grateful to nominate him, and thrilled to be part of this project," Purl is the best-selling author of the Milford-Haven saga, has previously served on the board of AuthorYOU®, and as president of the Colorado Independent Publishers Association. "Words matter. It's often our fellow authors who've helped to explain our history, provide insights into politics, or brought home the profound beauty of this state, providing countless hours of pleasure."

More information about the Colorado Authors' Hall of Fame can be found at

Honoring 16 Authors Who Are Still Living

Madeleine Albright, Rex Burns, Margaret Coel, Clive Cussler, John Dunning,
John Fielder, W C Jameson, Jerry Jenkins, Stephen King, Ann Parker,
Helen Thorpe, Jill Tietjen, Dom Testa, Kris Tualla, Marilyn Van Derbur, Connie Willis,
Mary Taylor Young.

Remembering Five Legacy Authors

Sybil Downing (1930 – 2011), George Cory Franklin (1872 – 1962), Louis L'Amour (1908 – 1988), Minnie Reynolds (1865 – 1936), Ann Haymond Zwinger (1925 – 2014),

Author/ Board Member Mara Purl, and Founder Judith Briles are available for interviews about the Colorado Authors' Hall of Fame or any aspect of book publishing. Contact Mara at 719-332-5401, Contact Judith at 303-885-2207 Photos and longer bios of the inductees are at

Tags:Books, Authors
Location:Colorado Springs - Colorado - United States
Account Email Address Verified     Account Phone Number Verified     Disclaimer     Report Abuse

Like PRLog?
Click to Share